August reading report and book of the month

August was a busy month, reading-wise. I reviewed four books for Euro Crime, including one at the end of July which I forgot to include in that month’s round-up, and fifteen at Petrona, making 19 in total. Nine of these are by women (two of them by pairs) and ten by men (including one pair). The geographical spread is: Sweden 7; Canada, 3; UK, 3 (one set in Gibraltar, one Scotland and one Wales); Norway, 2; and one each for Austria, France, Iceland and the USA. Eleven of the total are by authors new to me.

I have very much enjoyed most of these books. I’m not going to be able to single out a “book of the month” but will have to provide three titles that I can’t choose between: The Eyes of Lira Kazan by Eva Joly and Judith Perrignon (French authors); In The Darkness by Karin Fossum (Norwegian); and Another Time, Another Life by Leif G W Persson (Swedish). Old City Hall by Robert Rotenberg (Canada) and The Blind Goddess by Anne Holt (Norway) are a whisker behind.

Links to my September reviews:

Euro Crime:

The Blind Goddess by Anne Holt

Summertime Death by Mons Kallentoft

The Drowning by Camilla Lackberg

Shadow of the Rock by Thomas Mogford

Petrona:

Talking to the Dead by Harry Bingham

The Wandering Soul Murders by Gail Bowen

A Colder Kind of Death by Gail Bowen

Sail of Stone by Ake Edwardson

In The Darkness by Karin Fossum

The Camera Killer by Thomas Glavinic

Some Kind of Peace by Camilla Grebe and Åsa Träff

Sebastian Bergman by Hjorth Rosenfeldt

Killer’s Island by Anna Jansson

The Eyes of Lira Kazan by Eva Joly and Judith Perrignon

Blood Tears by Michael J Malone

Another Time, Another Life by Leif G W Persson

Between Summer’s Longing and Winter’s End by Leif G W Persson

A Field of Darkness by Cornelia Read

Old City Hall by Robert Rotenberg

Season of the Witch by Arni Thorarnisson

As usual, if you would like to see other bloggers’ choices of books of the month for August, see the round-up post at Mysteries in Paradise.

All my book reviews for 2012, with rankings.

7 thoughts on “August reading report and book of the month

  1. Wow. What a reading month. I have 2 out of your 3 nominees on my list to read. Looking forward to September.

  2. Maxine – I’m so very impressed! You’ve had such a productive reading month! I’m not surprised that you liked In the Darkness as much as you did. In my opinion Fossum’s got a very good series and it’s good to know how it all began. I only wish the series had been translated in order. But I won’t start a rant about that. Promise. 😉

  3. Great list, which will add to my TBR mountain. I am right now reading Julia Keller’s book, so highly recommended by you and RTR. It tooks me awhile to get into it but it’s hooked me now. The character development and understanding of people is quite interesting. I was concerned that the investigation would be left behind but it’s holding its own. I have read only a few books set in Appalachia, which makes this more interesting. I went to college in rural Vermont and saw poverty and small town life like that described here — and some things quite unusual for a big-city dweller.
    As always, so much to read and life does interfere in our reading time!

  4. No one warned us that Julia Keller’s book was “unputdownable.” Here I am up all night immersed in Bell’s life, imagining myself at Ike’s Diner with her and the sheriff, and wondering what her daughter, Carla, will do next!

  5. Well that makes my paltry 7 books finished for the month look a little sad….but at least it’s easier to pick a book of the month (well two). One of my picks for this month was the aforementioned Keller book which I really did love.

    I’ve got several of your list on my TBR pile (thanks for that – just what I needed) and will hopefully pick up my pace a bit soon. I have contemplated asking someone to drive over my leg or something so I get a few weeks off work but I suppose that is a bit drastic.

Comments are closed.