Favourite books reviewed in 2010

As a reviewer for Euro Crime, the superb free website/database for information and reviews about crime fiction, I recently selected my favourites among the books I’d reviewed for the site last year. The selections by all the year’s Euro Crime reviewers can be found here, but I thought I’d reprise my choices on this blog, as well as adding the non-European books I reviewed in 2010 that I enjoyed the most.

European:

Witness the Night by Kishwar Desai (India/England)
Winterland by Alan Glynn (Ireland)
The Crossing Places by Elly Griffiths (England)
Rupture by Simon Lelic (England)
Red Wolf by Liza Marklund (Sweden)
Water-Blue Eyes by Domingo Villar (Spain)
A Capital Crime by Laura Wilson (England)

Highly commended: The Burning by Jane Casey. (England)

Non-European:

The Reversal by Michael Connelly (USA)
The Build Up by Philip Gwynne (Australia)
Gunshot Road by Adrian Hyland (Australia)
Needle in a Haystack by Ernesto Mallo (Argentina)
Truth by Peter Temple (Australia)

6 thoughts on “Favourite books reviewed in 2010

  1. Ah; the good thing about this list is that it is relatively short.

    The bad thing: I had to add seven books to the list. Well, in a few days it is February & I can shop again πŸ˜‰

  2. Maxine – Those are truly good books you’ve chosen! Of the ones on your list I’ve read, I richly enjoyed them. But you are not doing my Mount TBR any favours! ;-).

  3. Interesting lists. I’ve only read one from the European list (Villar), but all from the second list – agree all good read. I’m not sure if you are placing the books by setting or nationality of author. If by nationality, then Jane Casey is Irish not English.

    • Thanks, Rob, yes I know Jane Casey is Irish but her book is set wholly in London. Similarly I didn’t put “South Africa” for Peter Temple ;-).

  4. Fortunately you already forced prompted me to add all of these to my TBR or whishlist when you reviewed them so I don’t need to do the damage now πŸ˜‰

    So nice to see the Aussies performing so well on your list.

  5. Glad to see your list. Will print it out. Thankfully, it’s not long, so I think it won’t do too much damage to my TBR list, and I have read some of these, one in the top list and three in the next one. And, I know which I have to purchase and which the library has in stock, so not too much damage to the budget.

Comments are closed.