SinC25: Progress so far and preparing for the ascent

Pretty soon after starting it, I realise I messed up on this Sisters in Crime 25th anniversary challenge – probably because I don’t really understand these challenges! I’ve completed the easy and the moderate levels, so have the expert challenge left to do:

write ten blog posts about works of crime fiction by women authors. For each, mention three similar women authors whose works you would recommend

I realise that what I should have done was to have started out on the expert challenge, because by completing the easy challenge (one post about one woman author, recommend 5 others) and the moderate challenge (five posts each about a woman author, recommend 1 other in each), I’ve used up a large number of authors already, and it’s a lot to come up with 10 more to post about and 30 others to recommend! But I’ll give it a go.

Before I attempt this Everest, I’ll just recap on my previous SinC25 posts (which are collected here).

I decided that I’d try to write a post about an author from a different country each time. For the easy post, I chose Unity Dow, from Botswana. For the 5 moderate posts, I chose:

Diane Setterfield, US author, setting England.
Similar author/book: Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre.
Catherine Sampson, English author living in China, setting England (first two novels) and China (second two novels).
Similar authors: Liza Marklund (Sweden) and Diane Wei Lang (China).
Saskia Noort, Dutch author (and setting).
Similar authors: Claudia Pineiro (Argentina) and Simone van der Vlugt (Holland).
Katherine Howell, Australian author (and setting).
Similar author: Sue Grafton (USA).
Miyuke Miyabe, Japanese author (and setting).
Similar author: Dominique Manotti (France).

I’d like to clarify that “similar” author does not mean “always writes the same type of book”; rather it means that there are elements of the books I’ve highlighted in these posts that are also present in some books by the “similar author” chosen. In other aspects, the paired (or tripled) authors are very different.

I wonder how I’ll get on with this 10 plus 30 part of the challenge? I’ll have to drop the concept of writing about an author from a different country each time, as I’m not that well read. Do you think I’ll make it? (Suggestions that might help are very welcome!).

My previous posts in the SinC25 challenge.

The Sisters in Crime 25th anniversary challenge.

21 thoughts on “SinC25: Progress so far and preparing for the ascent

  1. Wow. You really did make it hard on yourself Maxine. I thought you tried the easy bit then decided you could do a few more so went for the mid-level. Didn’t realise you were going to attempt Everest all along! But if anyone can do it I’m sure it will be you – your knowledge is second to no one – well except maybe Margot Kinberg but she’s just freakishly well-read and I haven’t completely dismissed the idea she’s part robot given her equally freakish memory and lack of sleeping hours😉

    I’m gonna struggle with the expert challenge myself and I haven’t ‘used up’ a bunch of good authors on the other levels.

    • It was just my stupidity in failing to understand the basis of this (and probably any other) challenge, Bernadette….I am too literal minded, thinking that you have to do easy, intermediate then hard in order rather than being able to start out on hard😉 Yes, we’d have to invent a whole new level for Margot😉

  2. I really enjoyed Katherine Howell’s Cold Justice and hope she gets a bigger profile in the UK. I am definitely going to read her other books. I think your comparison to Sue Grafton a good one. The challenges are great fun and informative but I fear I came late to them in 2011. I will make a concerted effort in 2012!

  3. Maxine – This is going to be difficult for you. But thanks for making the attempt. I’m with Bernadette that you’ll be able to meet the challenge. I am truly in awe of how well-read you are and how many authors and novels you know about even if you haven’t read them yet. My TBR list is not looking forward to this😉, but I am. Now if you’ll excuse me, time to get some sleep😉.

  4. I wholeheartedly concur. If anyone can meet this challenge, you can.
    What about featuring a U.S. author? Or a writer from Scotland, as Denise Mina? Or Ireland, as Tana French? There are a lot of Irish women mystery writers now, keep reading about them at Declan Burke’s website. Then there’s Donna Leon, who could be considered in the Italy category, since all of her books are set there and she lives in Venice.There’s also the books set in Iceland, by Yrsa Sigurdardottir.

  5. I know you won’t want to make it too easy on yourself Maxine, but there’s nothing that says you have to come up with 30 female authors – I’m sure the three recommendations for each of the 10 posts could have some repetition (in fact, that might be a good thing, so that new-to-those-author readers get a better idea of which authors you particularly rate/find similar to several authors etc).

  6. Maxine,
    Oh, do I ever understand what you mean about not understanding some of the challenges we all yearn to follow!

    Doesn’t matter, you always shed a bright light on what you’re reading.

    Your devoted fan,
    Judith (Reader in the Wilderness)

  7. Pingback: SinC25: Denise Hamilton, #1 post of expert challenge | Petrona

  8. Pingback: SinC25: Joanna Hines, #2 post of expert challenge | Petrona

  9. Pingback: SinC25: Margot Kinberg, #3 post of expert challenge | Petrona

  10. Pingback: SinC25: Asa Larsson, #4 post of expert challenge | Petrona

  11. Pingback: SinC25: Karen Campbell, #5 post of expert challenge | Petrona

  12. Pingback: SinC25: Inger Frimansson, #6 post of expert challenge | Petrona

  13. Pingback: SinC25: Claudia Piñeiro, #7 post of expert challenge | Petrona

  14. Pingback: SinC25: Laura Wilson, #8 post of expert challenge | Petrona

  15. Pingback: SinC25: Simone van der Vlugt, #9 post of expert challenge | Petrona

  16. Pingback: SinC25: Erin Kelly, #10 (and final) post of expert challenge | Petrona

Comments are closed.