SinC25 : Sisters in Crime book bloggers’ challenge

As regular reader(s) of this blog will know, I am not very good at challenges, memes and all that. My attention span can’t really deal with the sustained creativity required. Nonetheless, there is one such, The Sisters in Crime book bloggers’ challenge, that I feel almost duty-bound to accept. It is dreamt up by the ever-readable author, librarian, reviewer and Scandinavian book blogger Barbara Fister, who writes:

Given that Sisters in Crime is celebrating its 25th anniversary this year at Bouchercon, it seems a good time to blog about women’s contributions to crime fiction.
Easy challenge: write a blog post about a work of crime fiction by a woman author; list five more women authors who you recommend.
Moderate challenge: write five blog posts about works of crime fiction by women authors. For each, mention another woman author who writes in a similar vein.
Expert challenge: write ten blog posts about works of crime fiction by women authors. For each, mention three similar women authors whose works you would recommend.

The tag for these posts, which Barbara will aggregate at her blog, is SinC25 (#SinC25 for Twitter).

Given my on-record longstanding interest in women crime writers – not from any particular feminist perspective (as I like to read books based on how interesting they seem, not on the basis of the gender or other aspect of their authors) but because of annoyance of too many lazily compiled, all-male lists appearing elsewhere – I am clearly going to have to think about this one, as the “easy” challenge is in fact difficult, in the sense of having to choose five authors from a cornucopia. I’ll think on it and write my post in a couple of days.

In the meantime, you are warmly invited to take the Crime Scraps poll to identify your favourite Nordic woman crime writer. I warn you, it is a difficult choice!

Also in the meantime, you are again warmly invited to read an early post on this very blog, in which we identified many woman crime authors – some of whom I had never heard of then, but which are enduring favourites now.

Sisters in Crime book bloggers’ challenge.

9 thoughts on “SinC25 : Sisters in Crime book bloggers’ challenge

  1. Maxine – Like you, I’m not one for a lot of challenges and memes and so on, ‘though I do admire those who can complete them. This, though is tempting. Thanks for reminding me of it. Still not sure I’ll participate, but it’s always good to be motivated to try a new author or novel.

  2. Maxine, thanks for mentioning the poll, and reminding me of your list of women crime writers. There are a few.😉

  3. I think it might take me a year to finish the expert challenge but Barbara did say whenever. Maybe my hashtag should be #sinC25andahalf😉

  4. I like the sound of this–of course I say this more often than I should when a readalong or challenge appeals to me–it’s an excuse to pick up another book to read…. As I’ve already got a few crime novels by women authors sitting on my pile ready to go I might have to join in as well–but will certainly look forward to reading the posts in any case. My public library used to have a Murder and Mayhem conference every May, which I unfortunately never was able to attend, but the Sisters in Crime group (maybe a local group?) were always there–I should really find out more about the organization. Thanks for the heads up.

  5. This is a great idea for a challenge. Have been reading posts by bloggers about terrific women mystery writers. I’m glad to read everyone’s and I agree with everything I’ve seen so far.
    Don’t know if this has been seen but it is a set of pie charts about percentages of women reviewers, reviews of books by women authors, etc., in major publications. I found this interesting and perhaps revealing about why more books by women are not reviewed. Still a glass ceiling, it seems to me.
    Look forward to reading posts for this Sisters in Crime 25 challenge.

  6. Pingback: SinC25: The “easy” [actually not so easy] part | Petrona

Comments are closed.