Book review: Prime Cut by Alan Carter

Prime Cut
Alan Carter
Freemantle, 2011.

This debut novel starts very well indeed, with a prologue set in Sunderland (North-east England) in 1973, when that town’s football team won the cup final. Stuart Miller is the police detective who investigates a horrific murder in which a woman and her children’s bodies are found on the sofa having apparently been watching the game on TV. The woman’s husband has vanished. This case haunts Miller, as the husband, the presumed perpetrator, is never found.

Cut to present-day Australia, and the main plot, which is about senior constable “Cato” Kwong, demoted from a higher-profile job to the Western Australia stock squad, which seems to be a kind of inferior police force investigating minor infarctions. After some preamble between Kwong and his less-able sergeant, the two are assigned to investigate the case of a body that has been washed up on the beach at HopeToun, a tiny seaside retirement town that is now inundated with miners who work at a nearby facility as the state’s nickel resources are being exploited. The local police force has the form of one officer, Tess Maguire, who not only is recovering from being attacked in a bar, but who also turns out to have had a romantic relationship with Kwong.

So far, we’ve seen how Kwong is subject to lots of casual racism in the attitudes shown to him by almost everyone he meets (apart from Tess). Even though his first name is Philip, he even refers to himself as “Cato” (a nickname awarded to him because of the sidekick character in the Peter Sellers “Pink Panther” films). It turns out that he’s been a poster boy for anti-racism in the Australian police force, but under pressure from his boss, he cut a lot of corners in an investigation and identified the wrong person in a crime case. When this was uncovered, his boss left him out to dry resulting in his demotion to the boondocks and threatening his marriage. Kwong is therefore determined now to do the right thing in his investigation of the body, whatever the political pressures. Given the mine and its importance for the state’s economy, these turn out to be considerable.

I did enjoy this book, with its multi-angles about apparently different stories which one assumes will turn out to be connected. (As an aside, the Kindle e-book is very poorly formatted as there is no line-break between these sections. Sometimes a new section even runs on directly from the previous sentence, other times one does at least get the warning of a new paragraph.) However, I felt that the author was not entirely successful at keeping all the many (fascinating) balls in the air, for example the back-story of the Sunderland case, which may be relevant to the current one, was for me a bit disappointing, partly because of the Sergeant Miller outcome and partly because of a coincidence that seemed unlikely. Some of the resolutions of the various plots seemed slightly hasty or muddled – but I thought one of them, about Asian contract workers at the mine, was particularly well done. Tess is also a strong and attractive character, who could be developed further in future novels.

Even so, despite a sense that the book did not quite meet its initial potential, I enjoyed it and would be keen to read more about Kwong, who is a very interesting character compared with the usual crime-fiction detective. He’s certainly a real person, with all the associated complexities in his attitudes to his job, his personal life (in particular his ambivalence about his wife and son, and his feelings for Tess), how he feels about all the racism around him, and how he decides to carry out his investigation whatever his boss says. Another aspect of this book I like very much is its depiction of ways of life in this part of Western Australia.

I purchased the Kindle edition of the book as this is the only format available to UK readers.

Read other (Australian) reviews of this novel at: Mysteries in Paradise, Fair Dinkum Crime (Bernadette), and AustCrime.

Prime Cut was shortlisted for the 2010 CWA Debut Dagger award.

About the book at the publisher website.

10 thoughts on “Book review: Prime Cut by Alan Carter

  1. Maxine – As always, an excellent review. I understand exactly what you mean about keeping too many things going on in a plot. I’m glad that, despite that, you enjoyed the book. I’m quite keen to read it, myself, especially since it seems to depict the Western Australia setting very well. Thanks for the reminder that I must get to this one.

  2. Was it as long ago as 1973 when Sunderland won the cup? I remember my practice secretary crying as it was her home town. At one stage about 50% of the people I knew in London were from the North East, and had moved South to advance their careers.

    • It seems to have been quite an event, from the opening chapter here, Norman. I think I can sort of remember it as it was when I first became friends with boys (having only sisters and going to all girls’ schools) so I began to hear a lot of football talk for the first time. (My parents’ house was firmly rugby or cricket only.)

      • I must admit that the level of importance some people place on a single sporting event that they weren’t participating in themselves never ceases to stun me…While not sports mad I do enjoy my cricket and still watch swimming (it was ‘my’ sport when I played any) but I can’t remember a single game of anything the way some people do

  3. I’m glad you liked the novel and it’s a very fair review as the ending wasn’t as good as the rest of the book. I was just thrilled to see someone at least having a go at tackling some issues that we are facing in this country that everyone happily ignores…not least of which being the truly awful practices that companies are getting away with in the mining boom.

    Shame about the Kindle version..I don’t recall that from the print version but can’t check as I gave it back to whoever I borrowed it from.

    • I’m really pleased you and Kerrie both reviewed it so positively Bernadette, as it is so unusual to get quality recommendations for Austr crime (Euro Crime is good for translated even outside Europe). I’d never have stumbled across it otherwise. I will definitely read him again, it was a very good book and I think he’ll only get better. The Kwong chracter is very rounded for a first novel character.

  4. Pingback: August reading and reviews – 20 books, 10 reviews (so far!) | Petrona

  5. Pingback: Prime Cut by Alan Carter | Petrona Book Reviews archive

  6. Pingback: New (to me) authors read in 2011 | Petrona

Comments are closed.