A quiet week here if not there

I haven’t updated this blog much this week because I seem to have become permanently distracted. Not much to report, but I’ll just note that I’m overwhelmed (which is nice) with newly translated fiction to read. I have finished The Quarry by Johan Theorin which is a marvellous book, I really loved it. I’ve submitted a review to Euro Crime but if you want to read one now, then Bernadette has written her usual excellent analysis over at Reactions to Reading and Peter has written a fine review at Nordic bookblog.
I’ve just started on Yrsa Sigurdardottir’s latest, The Day is Dark, whose Icelandic title, literally translated as Veins of Ice, seems much more distinctive to me. Then I have novels by Camilla Lackberg, Karin Fossum, Anne Holt, Hakan Nesser, Marco Vichi and Jean-Francios Perot to read after that. (As well as some English-language originals by Ruth Dugdale, Aline Templeton, Dana Stabenow, Alan Carter, Jane Casey, Karen Campbell and Marcia Clark.)
Recent reviews or announcements have stimulated a virtual list in my mind of what to read when I have finished that lot: Burned by Thomas Enger, Misterioso by Arne Dahl and Lethal Investments by K O Dahl to name but three. And of course I’m eagerly awaiting the next Asa Larsson book Until Thy Wrath Be Passed (new UK publisher, Quercus/MacLehose). And I must find time to re-read the 9-volume Forsyte Saga which I recently purchased. To cap that, Euro Crime blog has just listed three more new titles that all look good, and I have activated a subscription to Audible, so am sporadically listening to a 20-hour Anthony Trollope marathon, The Bertrams.
It’s a nice, if a bit daunting, situation to be in, as I have totally failed in my January goal to have a reading backlog of one or two books this year.

13 thoughts on “A quiet week here if not there

  1. It’s nice to know you can be drawn into temptation like the rest of us…now I must get back to that Galician Shore

  2. And nice to see that someone else takes care of Scandinavian crime fiction when I am too lazy to do it😉
    Well, my sister lent me two Danish novels the other day so perhaps there is hope. One of them is a Jussi Adler-Olsen. Not a Carl Mørck story and not translated, but if his popularity continues to grow, I suppose it will be.

  3. Good list of books. Eagerly await the reviews.
    I finished a book by Peter Lovesey yesterday, and am now starting Sisters by Rosamund Lupton.
    Does anyone read Lovesey’s Peter Diamond series?
    The Quarry sounds good. My library doesn’t have it nor Villar’s books nor Varesi’s or I’d be reading them now. However I have the Lupton, a Marshall Browne, Kiran Desai’s book Witness the Night, the new Teresa Solana, another Camilerri, Rex Stout, Christopher Fowler’s first book

    • I read some Peter Lovesey some time ago, Kathy, but don’t remember much. I enjoyed Sister, though (mainly for the relationship between the sisters with each other and their mother, rather than the crime plot!). Glad you have so many to read. Maybe The Quarry has not been published in the US yet? Varesi may not have been either.

  4. The Varesi, both books by Villar and The Quarry are not in my library system nor available at my local crime store. Nor is much of the translated crime fiction nor Australian fiction and only one by Symon.
    And, while I’m at it, the mystery section is now tiny and unfindable, and tons of dvd’s are taking up what was book space until a few weeks ago.

    • Symon’s books are not available over here either, Kathy. (The one I read was sent as a gift.) It’s those geographical publishing rights restrictions again, sadly. We can read the reviews but not always the books themselves.

  5. And reading Sisters, as psychological suspense is not my thing, and not first person either, alternating with second person, I keep being pulled to the Montalbano or Nero Wolfe for diversion and humor.

  6. Hi– actually Yrsa’s novel The Day is Dark in Icelandic is called Auðnin, which means “The Wasteland” or “The Wilderness”. All the best…

  7. Spoiled for choice–I know the feeling well, but still a nice problem to have. If only I had a few more hours in the day! I’ve just got a second book by Liza Marklund–Studio 69– to read. Not sure where it falls in the series, but I know the story is what happened before the one I just read. I’m reading the first Parot book, too, and very much enjoying it. I like historical fiction, and he does a nice job of giving great detail without it being too much of an overload! Happy reading!

Comments are closed.