July book bonanza

At the turn of this year I attempted a resolution to cut right back on my unread books, so that I more or less read any new titles as I acquired them. I was doing pretty well on this goal, including ruthlessly restricting myself to one e-book download at a time, not allowing another one until I had read the first. However, something has happened recently as evidenced by this picture taken with my “smart” phone with much advice by smart people I live with (ie not me). You can click on the image if you want to inspect the titles. Karen of Euro Crime is certainly responsible for some of these books, and the recent mini-influx of newly published translated crime fiction is responsible for others. I’ve also requested one or two from publishers, and purchased one or two more.
On the Kindle front, I have recently downloaded Fear Not by Anne Holt and Witness by Cath Staincliffe, both costing pennies thanks to a Kindle “promotion”, and Prime Cut by Alan Carter thanks to excellent reviews by Kerrie of Mysteries in Paradise and Bernadette of Reactions to Reading (reviews at Fair Dinkum Crime). I confess that I already have two unread books on my Kindle, Fire and Ice by Dana Stabenow and The Chatelet Apprentice by J-F Parot.
As I am taking my time over the excellent The Quarry by Johan Theorin, I’m a bit stumped to know how I’m going to make inroads on these novels on a reasonable timescale. Perhaps I should not allow myself to buy any more books until all these are finished – but I’ll have to make one exception if so, the long- and eagerly awaited Until Thy Wrath be Past by Asa Larsson, due out in the UK on 4 August.

14 thoughts on “July book bonanza

  1. I admire people who can buy and then read (and wait to buy or acquire more) and keep those growing piles of books under control, though I admit I can’t seem to follow the same plan. A lovely pile of books, though.

    • Indeed, Danielle, I have learnt over many years that if you buy a book and don’t read it in a few weeks, the chances are you never will….

  2. Petrona – Oh, so nice to know I’m not the only one with that weakness😉. You should see my TBR list – or perhaps not.😉 You’ve got some nice stuff awaiting you there, and I really look forward to your reviews of them.

  3. In Devil’s Peak by Deon Meyer, Benny, the Afrikaner cop, admits to being an alcoholic at an AA meeting. My name is Norman and I am a bookaholic, is there a twenty step program to help. I have one of your pile on my shelf and about five on order, I will have to recycle.

  4. Well, but if that is any kind of comfort, your pile would make any crime fiction fan slobber! Only one writer there I haven´t read anything by – I´d say that indicates that at least your taste must be impeccable😉

    I have been ever so good since Bristol, but I plan to reward myself with a binge after the summer holidays.

  5. Until about 3 years ago I only ever had 2-3 unread books around me at any one time (unless I had been to visit my brother in the US when I would return with as many books as I could squeeze into my suitcase). Then in the same month I met bookmooch and book depository and within a few weeks had somehow accumulated 50 books to read, with more coming in all the time. Being a reader in Australia had always been such an expensive hobby that I went a bit doolally when I found one free source and one very cheap source of books – neither of which I could envisage lasting. I can remember discussing the arrival of book depository in our lives with some colleagues at work and we all had this urge to buy as many books as we could because we couldn’t quite believe such cheap books would be available to us for long. A few years later I’ve managed to cut down considerably and am generally reading at the rate I acquire books these days as I have accepted cheaper books are here to stay and I have more options now (eBooks etc). Unfortunately though I still have the ‘leftovers’ of my days of gluttony, and it’s proving very difficult to wade through those. I suspect another cull is on the way.

    Your haul looks good, I shall look forward to hearing your thoughts on these (though there is nothing you could say that will make me want to read the Marcia Clark book).

    • Oh dear (Marcia Clark)- it was sent wrongly to Euro Crime for review by someone who does not understand the word “Euro” and cannot read review policies. I agreed to give it an alternative home as I like legal books, but now I wish I hadn’t!

      Like you Bernadette I remember when books were not exactly an expensive hobby, but one knew they were not cheap and factored that in. Then the NNBA was abolished and the cheap flood began – cutting out “mid list” authors from being published at all because of the forced economies of publishers (pity they did not foresee this!!!) who now had to sell their products v cheap. And all the dumbing down we have seen since, where I think now that most “bestsellers” seem to be aimed at 10 year olds. I am glad that translated fiction exists as it mostly seems to come from countries that have not been hit by this (yet), and in the old-fashioned way, publishers are providing books that someone there has read and decided others would like, rather than buying something unseen in an auction at a book fair or whatever. (Indpendent publishers exist in this country, thank heavens, long may they continue. This is one reason why Stieg Larsson’s success was such a boost for Quercus, who are going on to publish more books that are not aimed at the lowest common denominator).

  6. Yes. I notice all of the time the fifth-grade reading level of many bestsellers and other books. (Except that I have known some fifth-graders who read better books than the bestsellers.)
    Bringing home books from the library and seeing the level of writing in many books, which resembles a primary school reader, then having to bring them back unread is aggravating.
    What’s also aggravating is seeing my library cut back on books (my nearby branch), where now dvd’s take up most fiction shelves. I couldn’t even find the one mystery bookshelf last week, as the movies overtook nearly a wallful of shelving. And the main library buyers don’t seem to be buying anything except “bestsellers” and dvd’s.
    There were just budget cuts in the library system, as everywhere else, but not to buy any new books seems ridiculous.
    And the library administration is taking books out of circulation, keeping one at a main library and making it noncirculating. As if people who work full-time, parents, disabled people, people who live in other boroughs, can get to the main library during the week and sit and read.
    I looked for Denise Mina’s trilogy as i referred it to a friend who’d love it, and I was thinking of rereading it. The three books have been taken out of circulation altogether.
    The library is supposed to encourage reading and have books available.
    I guess we are supposed to sell our souls to Amazon.

  7. Thanks for the tip on the Anne Holt book. I haven;t read one of hers so i snapped it up for the kindle queue for 99p. Score!🙂

  8. Ooo boy! One the wonderful things about the plethora of available books that has come with Net, is blogs that provide a cornucopia of choices. I don’t have a TBR pile because I have no self control and have to read them IMMEDIATELY. But I was intrgued by Maxine’s list, and so last weekend I Kindled the Ann Holt, the Cath Staincliffe and the Perot (The Chatelet Apprentice) . Like anyover-indulged child I now have the most horrific dose of indigestion.
    I thought the weakest was the Staincliffe (Witness); mostly because it read like a collection of role play scripts for a social work course (yes, a personal experience), almost a cross between journalistic reporting and case notes. Flat, and totally lacking vibrancy. The Perot was fascinating, but in terms of historical genre I recently read Andrew Taylor’s The Anatomy of Ghosts and found that infinitely better. I read the Perot in the ads while watching Le Tour, which here in Australia finishes at 2 in the morning. Perhaps that contributed to the indigestion. The Ann Holt, well, very readable but I must say I was pleased it was on my Kindle and I hadn’t spent $A30 on it.
    So now I’ve devoted two days to normal life (so glad the cycling’s over!) and I’m ready for a new book. I am going to have Jan Theorin’s The Quarry on Kindle, but as I have the previous two as real books I think I will eventually buy a copy because he really is an author who withstands re-reading. I’ve done this e-tasting then Book Depository purchasing with Tana Ffrench’s 3 books and am very pleased with self – AND there’s a little room left on the bookshelf.

Comments are closed.