Started reading The Quarry by Johan Theorin

I started reading The Quarry by Johan Theorin (translated by Marlaine Delargy) a couple of days ago and so far, 50 pages in, it is just marvellous. Every page is a delight. I’m posting this picture for two reasons: first because it is the first example I’ve seen in a long while of an appropriate sticker! (“Winner of the International Crime Novel for 2010 for The Darkest Room.”) The blurb on the back carries a quote from the Observer: “If you like Stieg Larsson, try a much better Swedish writer”.
Second, this is the first time I have taken a picture (now that I have a device, as I have learned it is called – I thought I was buying a phone!) and uploaded it to this blog. It has taken some days in total to get this far which for someone who was once an expert photographer is a bit galling, but it is done despite the challenges of too many bits of clever technology.
Peter at Nordic Bookblog has already reviewed The Quarry – I haven’t read his thoughts yet as I want to read the book first, but will do so after I have finished it and written my own review.

The Quarry is the third in Johan Theorin’s Oland quartet. I’ve reviewed the brilliant first two novels: Echoes from the Dead and The Darkest Room.
Author’s website (UK version).

10 thoughts on “Started reading The Quarry by Johan Theorin

  1. I have this one on my TBR shelf and am now looking forward to reading it.

    Great photo, but have you synced all your devices? ;o) I am terrified of being eaten by one of these Mac upgrades first Snow Leopard and now Lion is on its way. The thing works at the moment why do we need all these frightening technological advances. :o(

    • I don’t think I have synched everything, Norman, I only let it do one thing at a time but it is all a total nightmare as you say😉

  2. Maxine – Thank you for whetting my appetite! This one’s on my TBR, too, and I am excited to hear what you think of it. I’m glad to hear that you’re enjoying it so much thus far. And well-done on that terrific ‘photo! Those new devices can make things lots easier…if I can get my old and creaky brain to learn them😉.

  3. Ooooh, I will look forward to your review. Looks like the marketing people have taken on board criticism about overtly cashing in on the Steig Larsson phenomenon: the first Theorin novel I bought had a sticker saying “If you like Steig Larsson, you’ll love this” which didn’t exactly sell it to me!

  4. My copy arrived on the doorstep last night. I’ve got a library book to finish before it’s due back then I’ll be savouring this one myself, glad to hear you are enjoying it so far

    Congratulations on getting your ‘device’ up and running

  5. I’ve pulled out Echoes from the Dead to read but am glad to hear he is consistently good–it’s always nice to have dependable authors to look forward to reading. I guess cell phones aren’t just for talking on anymore…or should I say devices.

  6. Pingback: yes, we have more links « Scandinavian Crime Fiction

Comments are closed.