June reading, and an archive update

I read eleven books in June (or will have done, I should have finished Sweet Money by Thursday). Taken together with my June Euro Crime reviews (see below) there are two clear favourites for my book of the month – Outrage and The Rage (!) Neither book is written in a “rageful” way, though, both have a calm authorial voice. The rage in both cases gradually becomes apparent in a slow burn of a read. Superb. Of my other reads this month, I would recommend almost all of them, with only a couple being a bit substandard. Links below go to my reviews.

Sweet Money by Ernesto Mallo (currently reading)
Cold Justice by Katherine Howell****
Outrage by Arnaldur Indriðason, translated by Anna Yates (review to be submitted to Euro Crime)*****
A Rage In Harlem by Chester Himes***
Lasting Damage by Sophie Hannah*
Blood Harvest by S J Bolton****
Officer Down by Theresa Schwegel**
The Rage by Gene Kerrigan*****
A Cold Day for Murder by Dana Stabenow***
Snowdrops by A D Miller**
Overkill by Vanda Symon***

Also in June, the following reviews of mine were published at Euro Crime:
The Track of Sand by Andrea Camilleri, translated by Stephen Sartarelli.***
The Dinosaur Feather by Sissal-Jo Gazan, translated by Charlotte Braslund.***
The Winter of the Lions by Jan Costin Wagner, translated by Anthea Bell.***

I have now updated the Petrona review archive so that it contains all the reviews I’ve written up to today – mostly here or on Euro Crime, but some in other publications and places. When the review has been first posted here, however, I have not pasted-in the entire review to the archive, but instead posted a link and applied the relevant categories. This means that if you want to search my book reviews by country, region, genre or other factors (such as whether translated), you can do so by clicking through to the archive (link at top right of the sidebar) and choosing the appropriate category.
I’ve also archived some reviews at Amazon, just in case of a fatal WordPress crash at some point.

4 thoughts on “June reading, and an archive update

  1. Maxine – Thanks, as always, for this rich resource. One of the things I really appreciate about your archives is how organised they are and how thoughtful your reviews are. My TBR, of course, suffers whenever I visit your archives😉, but what a treasure trove🙂.

  2. Good list: I must look for the two “outrageous” books. I’m sure Kerrigan’s will be in my library but Indridasson’s I’ll have to look for at Book Depository or Amazon.
    I appreciate your archives, have looked up book reviews many a time.

  3. Well, it could have been worse (more expensive); the only must which I haven´t added to my list already is Indridason – and I suppose he would go on it anyway.

Comments are closed.