What I read in May, and what’s next

In the end I managed to read 10 books in May, covering quite a wide geographical area:

White Dog Peter Temple (Australia)
The Dinosaur Feather Sissel-Jo Gazan (Denmark, review submitted)
An Uncertain Place Fred Vargas (France)
Turn of Mind Alice LaPlante (USA)
The Winter of the Lions Jan Costin Wagner (Finland, review submitted)
Hanging Hill Mo Hayder (UK, not reviewed)
The Dead of Summer Mari Jungstedt (Sweden)
Mercy Jussi Adler-Olsen (Denmark)
Blue Monday Nicci French (UK, review submitted)
Back of Beyond C J Box (USA)

I enjoyed many of these books, but my favourites are Mercy and Turn of Mind, with White Dog getting top marks out of the rest for beauty of language.
What’s next? I am currently reading Overkill by Vanda Symon (New Zealand); after that I have a proof of Ruth Dugdall‘s second novel, The Sacrificial Man, which looks very good, and have purchased Officer Down by Theresa Schwegel (largely due to a review by Rob Kitchin though I have had my eye on this series for a while). Nowhere to Run by C J Box is also awaiting reading.
On the Kindle I have downloaded The Chatelet Apprentice, the first Nicolas Le Floch investigation by Jean-Francois Parot, as a subsequent book in the series is on the CWA International Dagger shortlist this year, and the first novel has received very good reviews (this one by Laura Root at Euro Crime). I’ve also got the first novels in two series by Dana Stabenow to read as previously reported. So much for my aim of only having one e-book in the queue: blame the ludicrously cheap prices of these downloads (all under £1 each), deals which I did not think would last forever.
Once I have worked my way through those I intuit that I’ll have another tranche of translated, newly published crime fiction to read. To be on the safe side, I’ve also ordered Galsworthy’s The Forsyte Saga, nine books and a couple of interludes, so that should keep me occupied for a while.

11 thoughts on “What I read in May, and what’s next

  1. Maxine – Looks as though you had a good reading month, quality-wise. I am looking forward to reading your review of Dinosaur Feather. I’ve been interested in reading that one since you mentioned it. And Mercy has been bumped up on my TBR; I am really eager to read that one, too. Right now I am in denial about the effect on my TBR budget. It’s just easier that way…😉.

  2. I am definitely looking forward to Mercy Maxine after yours and other glowing reviews. Hope to get to it soon though I ordered a swag of Aussie books from the library and they’ve all become available at once so that looks like my reading for the next little while. Looking forward to seeing what you think of Officer Down.

    I’m sure your eBook queue is not nearly so grim as mine – doesn’t help when one is in a slump (brought about mostly I think because I have been listening to Three Seconds for what feels like three weeks – the most tedious book I’ve listened to in a very long time).

  3. Can’t wait to read your review of the new Nicci French. I received a copy in the post yesterday so it’s promptly gone to the top of the queue, but I seem to be reading about four books at once right now so it might be a week or two before I get to it.

  4. The Dinosaur Feather is one of those I feel I should have read years ago, but for some reason I have never stumbled on it in the library. After your review I may have to do something about that.

    A new Ruth Dugdall sounds really good, and as it is only a proof, I am sure I´ll get my TBR in control before I can buy it in the shops😉

    And I find it very difficult to imagine you without books, but should it ever happen please tell your friends. I am hardly the only one who owe you a shelf or two.

  5. I should also have mentioned in the post but forgot that I have a library book, Snowdrops by A D Miller, to read – I’m slightly dubious about it but it has very good reviews so I may try it.

    Dorte – if you contact Legend Press I bet they will send you a proof in return for a review, they are lovely.

    Dorte and Margot – I was in two minds about Dinosaur Feather but there is already a very good review of it on UK Amazon by Simon Clarke. It’s very long, and really two books stuck together – a story about 3 people’s lives and, 300 pages later, a crime novel.

    Kim – the Nicci French was of course good but not quite up to their best. I did like it, though, and it is different for them as first of a series. There is a short preview of my review at Amazon UK as I got my copy via Vine and you have to give them a review. The full, proper review will be at Euro Crime soonish I hope.

  6. PS Bernadette, know what you mean about 3 weeks though the second half is much faster! Don’t whatever you do read that Petterson one (Summer’s Longing…Winter’s End) , makes 3S seem like a nano read! Dino Feather is also v discursive in the first half, it is 500 pages long but the typeface in the proof is very large so will prob be shorter in the finished version.

  7. It’s a little dangerous reading your posts as I am continually either adding books to my list of books to buy or trying to get them via interlibrary loan at the library where I work (often the books haven’t been published here but there always seems to be a few libraries who are lucky enough to get in lots of UK imports). I have started Mercy and am finding it very good and am waiting for a few others you mention here. I started reading The Forsyte Saga last year and was enjoying it–I should get back to it as well.

  8. Thanks, Danielle. The three books (of three books each) have arrived now but look a little daunting. However, as I’ve read the Trollope Palliser series this year, some of which are more than 900 small type pages, I should be able to manage them😉

    These geo restrictions are annoying, it happens the other way round, too, when I read reviews on US blogs or websites and find the book isn’t available here for ages – this is true of a new Japanese novel that I have heard good things about, for example (name has temporarily escaped me but I have it listed somwhere safe!).

  9. Yes, Forsyte is definitely easy going actually–very good drama–there’s just so many books it seems, but better to think optimistically–more to enjoy! I always think there is a much better selection of international crime fiction/or just crime fiction in general in the UK–but it’s probably just a case of thinking the ‘grass is greener’. I have stacks of unread mysteries but there is so much really good new stuff continually coming out I can’t help myself but adding to the piles.

Comments are closed.