What I read in May, and what’s next

In the end I managed to read 10 books in May, covering quite a wide geographical area:

White Dog Peter Temple (Australia)
The Dinosaur Feather Sissel-Jo Gazan (Denmark, review submitted)
An Uncertain Place Fred Vargas (France)
Turn of Mind Alice LaPlante (USA)
The Winter of the Lions Jan Costin Wagner (Finland, review submitted)
Hanging Hill Mo Hayder (UK, not reviewed)
The Dead of Summer Mari Jungstedt (Sweden)
Mercy Jussi Adler-Olsen (Denmark)
Blue Monday Nicci French (UK, review submitted)
Back of Beyond C J Box (USA)

I enjoyed many of these books, but my favourites are Mercy and Turn of Mind, with White Dog getting top marks out of the rest for beauty of language.
What’s next? I am currently reading Overkill by Vanda Symon (New Zealand); after that I have a proof of Ruth Dugdall‘s second novel, The Sacrificial Man, which looks very good, and have purchased Officer Down by Theresa Schwegel (largely due to a review by Rob Kitchin though I have had my eye on this series for a while). Nowhere to Run by C J Box is also awaiting reading.
On the Kindle I have downloaded The Chatelet Apprentice, the first Nicolas Le Floch investigation by Jean-Francois Parot, as a subsequent book in the series is on the CWA International Dagger shortlist this year, and the first novel has received very good reviews (this one by Laura Root at Euro Crime). I’ve also got the first novels in two series by Dana Stabenow to read as previously reported. So much for my aim of only having one e-book in the queue: blame the ludicrously cheap prices of these downloads (all under £1 each), deals which I did not think would last forever.
Once I have worked my way through those I intuit that I’ll have another tranche of translated, newly published crime fiction to read. To be on the safe side, I’ve also ordered Galsworthy’s The Forsyte Saga, nine books and a couple of interludes, so that should keep me occupied for a while.