A literal book and book blogger world tour


One of the great things about the Internet is that it enables one to find out instantly about enticing books. Often this discovery comes about from reading great blog reviews, reviews that make one desperate to read the title in question. Sadly, when the blogs concerned are in different “geographical regions” as defined by book publishers, this desperation is likely to remain unrequited if one lives in the “wrong” place. We’ve seen in the past week or two how superinjunctions have failed to be upheld in England and Wales, at least in part due to the mass anarchy of online social media. Sadly, however, the frustrating rules about where one can buy books are less susceptible to such pressures: even though one can freely read about a book, one may not be able to buy or read it. (Even if the books are available in e-format, the same restrictive rules apply, very sad for keen readers.)

Every now and again, an opportunity arises for a remedy, and such an opportunity has just been taken by a human chain of bloggers, starting with Bernadette in Australia, who purchased the titles in question, then moving on to Kerrie, also in Australia, whose physical location is luckily nearby and was about to embark on a trip to visit her family in Abu Dhabi, before attending Crime Fest in Bristol, UK. Among the attendees at Crime Fest was Norman, he of the Yurt on the Moor (picture copyright Crime Scraps) who, after a handover, very kindly posted the cargo on to me, a couple of hundred miles up the road.

So thank you, all, so much for my mercy package which arrived a couple of days ago via so many exotic and disparate locations. A wonderful thing, the Internet.

9 thoughts on “A literal book and book blogger world tour

  1. Maxine – I know exactly what you mean. You yourself have been so kind to me that way and I truly appreciate it. The Internet is, indeed, a great thing🙂.

  2. Hehe. Great post about the mixture of curses and blessings of the internet. Kerrie brought me Vanda´s fourth novel, Bound, so now I have made sure I can also read the third and fourth Sam Shephard stories without having to be convicted & sent down under (or to read them in German).

  3. I am amazed at how Kerrie managed to carry everything. I gather that she downloaded a vast quantity while at Crime Fest but at least those books would have been light luggage😉.

  4. That is very nice to read.
    I agree with the frustration about very exciting books one reads about on the Internet, those reviewed favorably, which send avid readers to Book Depository, Amazon and more, desperately looking for these books.
    Just this week, I was looking for books I’ve read about on the terrific Oz websites: The Half Child, A Few Right Thinking Men, The Old School, Prime Cut and more. And also, a few on the Daggers shortlist and longlist. Book Depository doesn’t carry them or is out of all I looked for.
    I may have to cave in and get a Kindle or a relative of one to read these.
    It’s great to hear of the generosity among global mystery bloggers.

  5. The internet has made reading/books more accessible and also a little more frustrating for just the reasons you mention. When I think about what I used to read from my local library branch before the internet and after–there’s no comparison. I do still try and borrow when I can but stores like The Book Depository have really opened up my reading horizons. I only wish that they had more books I want in stock as that seems to be variable these days. Very nice that other readers are so generous to help move those books around the globe!

  6. It is so nice to think of books going on adventures of their own as well as taking their readers on adventures. Although I am a convert to eBooks I have to say I do love the physicality of being able to share physical books and am not that fussed that most of the Aussie books I read are not available in eBook format as I like sending them all off into the world.

    I have been delving into the dark side of social media for my work over the past couple of weeks (looking at online bullying and what can be done to lessen it or at least the impact on its victims) and it would have been easy to come away from that rather depressed about the state of humanity as it interacts with itself online but for the fact I kept thinking how many helpful and delightful people I have ‘met’ through book blogging and associated online activities like the Friend Feed room. Of course it just confirms what we all know, far from being a worry because they read about death and killing all the time crime fiction readers are the nicest people to be around because all their evil thoughts are dealt with in their reading🙂

  7. Agreed Bernadette: some parts of the social internet are horrific or just plain nasty – when I first started reading blogs I read lots, but found that there are lots of random rantings about politics at the level of “I hate [insert name of current PM]” etc. Eventually I filtered down to book bloggers and a few journalism blogs (ie written by journalists who have a bit of training in objective, considered comment rather than being squalling brats). Even the science “blogosphere” is full of ill-considered rants, I was surprised at first as I had assumed scientific training encourages objectivity but I think the objective scientists are doing science and not blogging! (Again, the best science blogs are written by science journalists or those who have become journalists/editors via their blogging).

    It is very easy to filter out the internet, eg on Twitter if one does not want to see any of the elements of mass hysteria and naive “politics” that sweep over it (only to be forgotten until the next self-justifying set of rants), one can easily not see it.

    Kathy – I do despair about the geographical rights because publishers and agents see it as a way to keep financially viable in the e-world. (Actually, one could argue as Bernadette has done that it only encourages piracy). The recent interview with Andrew Wylie in the NYmagazine illustrates this well – his business model is selling rights for his backlist authors. So, when you consider buying a kindle or other e-reader, check out availability first, as you will probably find that an unavailable print title is also unavailable (legally) in e-format, if “geo restrictions” are in force.

  8. Yes, I have been well-versed on the problems with geographical/territorial rights at excellent bookbloggers’ websites, and I’ve read of the problems and frustrations. I was ready to cave in to this phenomenon or gadget as I’d see it, the Luddite that I can be, when pulling my hair out that my library barely has any of the fiction I want to hear now, not only from Australia and New Zealand, but even Scandinavia (no Frozen Moment or Mercy), even France (no recent Vargas). Except for 3 titles, it doesn’t have all of the Dagger shortlist. Book Depository says now the books (Daggers or books from Oz) aren’t available, so I write in “Notify me.” Etc., etc.
    So desperation sets in and no books are available, even when my frugal self is willing to part with money for Book Depository. The books aren’t there either.
    So we have to push harder for more global books to be shipped globally, an original idea, I must say (sarcasm).
    I guess I’ll be reading Camilleri, Leon, Rex Stout (not even all of those are at the library) and Michael Connelly ad infinitum, and banging on the doors of other stores and websites to buy more variety.

Comments are closed.