Vera Stanhope and Jimmy Perez, books by Ann Cleeves

The Vera Stanhope novels by Ann Cleeves are currently being shown as four episodes on ITV in the UK (the photo shows the actress Brenda Blethyn (right), who plays Vera, with the author), and doubtless elsewhere in the world subsequently. As I have reviewed all four books, I thought I’d write one post to aggregate these links, for the interest of those who know Vera only as a TV character but who might want to get to know her better.

The Crow Trap (# 1)

Telling Tales (# 2) (Episode 2 of the TV series)

Hidden Depths (# 3) (Episode 1 of the TV series, reviewed at It’s a Crime!)

Silent Voices (# 4)

Ann Cleeves has written many other novels, of course, among them a series called The Shetland Quartet. These are excellent crime novels, which I highly recommend for their sense of location, atmosphere, and strong characters. Each is set on a different island and tells a distinct story, but the novels are linked by police detective Jimmy Perez, his colleagues and the woman he comes to love. I have reviewed these books for Euro Crime.

Raven Black (# 1)

White Nights (# 2)

Red Bones (# 3)

Blue Lightning (# 4)

There are rumours both of a fifth novel in this series (if so it will have to change its composite “quartet” title!), and that these books might also find their way onto the TV screen. Read more about the author, her books and lots more at Ann Cleeves’s very good website. She has also recently started Tweeting as @AnnCleeves .