Book reviews published during April

During April, five of my book reviews appeared at Euro Crime. I can recommend all these titles, though Rendezvous is more “women’s commercial fiction” than crime and as such was not my personal cup of tea.

The Redeemed by M R Hall (England/Wales, series)

Drawing Conclusions by Donna Leon (USA, Italy setting, series)

Blood Sisters by Alessandro Perissonoto (Italy, debut novel)

Rendezvous by Esther Verhoef (The Netherlands, France setting, standalone)

Death on a Galician Shore by Domingo Villar (Spain, second in series)

I’ve reviewed other books on this blog, again all highly recommended. (Slightly more of a US bias here, as many of my European reviews are for Euro Crime.) They are all crime novels apart from Intuition, which is a very good piece of fiction centred on a scientific research institute.

Blood Trail by C J Box (USA, series)

The Fifth Witness by Michael Connelly (USA, series)

The Sentry by Robert Crais (USA, series)

Intuition by Allegra Goodman (USA, stand-alone)

The Troubled Man by Henning Mankell (Sweden, series)

I have read a lot of other books during April, some of which I shall review either for Euro Crime or here, and a few of which I won’t – either because I didn’t enjoy the books very much or, in the case of Anthony Trollope’s Palliser novels (now finished all six) because there are plenty of existing reviews of these superb classic novels and I could not add to those.

2 thoughts on “Book reviews published during April

  1. Somehow I missed that review of BLOOD SISTERS when it came out – how helpful that you have given me a second chance to add it to my wishlist. With my new read 6, buy 1, rule in place it’ll be a while til I get to it but it does sound interesting. As does the Villar but I have yet to read the first (soon).

  2. Thanks so much, Maxine. Your reviews are very helpful in figuring out my TBR list, although my budget grows when the analysis is good. I will add a few from this list, although Leon’s is on my library reserve account as are the Connelly and Crais. However, I’ll add more.
    On the Verhoef, I didn’t like the first one, as it had alternating chapters from the viewpoint of the psychopathic killer … I had to skip those. And I thought it crossed the line in violence or implied violence throughout. Not my cup of tea.

Comments are closed.