Read, reading, to read

I have done quite well this year in keeping my unread book possessions down to the level at which I can actually read them at the time I purchase or otherwise obtain them. Things are getting a bit dangerous just now, though, not least because of my project to read all of Anthony Trollope’s Palliser novels, which are deeply engaging but very long. I am currently on The Prime Minister, the fifth of the six novels, which has stalled my other reading for a while.

Recently completed are two books I received via the Amazon Vine programme, which I was recently invited to join. One of these is The Hypnotist by Lars Kepler (a pseudonym for a Swedish husband and wife), the other is a standalone (or at least, a non-Ben Devlin novel) by Brian McGilloway, Little Girl Lost. I have submitted reviews for both of these to Euro Crime. I also received a copy of Donna Leon‘s latest, Drawing Conclusions, from the publisher, and have submitted a review of that to Euro Crime as well.

Even more recently, my project to read the appealing (to me) titles eligible for the CWA International Dagger received a boost via the UK paperback publication of Rendezvous by Esther Verhoef. I purchased and read this book and, unsurprisingly, have sent my review of it off to Euro Crime.

What next? I’ve a bit of a cornucopia just now, which was not my intention but that is how it goes. On the International Dagger front, the long-awaited Death on a Galician Shore by Domingo Villar has finally been published in the UK so I have immediately purchased that and I am pretty sure I’ll read that next after I finish The Prime Minister. (I loved his previous novel, Water-Blue Eyes.) In addition, I have received a few extremely tempting titles from very generous publishers: 66 degrees North by Michael Ridpath (Corvus), the second in his Icelandic series. If it is anything like as good as the first, Where the Shadows Lie (see my review here), this one will be a very good read. And Macmillan has very kindly sent me two books: The Redeemed by M. R. Hall – third in his excellent series about coroner Jenny Cooper (the first two are The Coroner and The Disappeared, links go to my reviews); and The Track of Sand, the new Montalbano novel by the peerless Andrea Camilleri.

Apart from these riches, I also have a few unread books that pre-date all of the above and which I am also keen to read: three novels by C. J. Box; Splinter by Sebastian Fitzek (my only unread Kindle book, and another on the International Dagger-eligible list); a couple by Anita Shreve; and One Day by David Nicholls (which I don’t think I am going to like, but should read as I bought it). Of course, the UK publication date of the new Michael Connelly novel, The Fifth Witness, is now upon us, and I can’t miss out on that….

15 thoughts on “Read, reading, to read

  1. 66 degrees north is 66 north on my library’s catalogue (I wondered how they’d cope with it!). I have reserved it though have yet to read #1.

  2. I am impressed that your TBR piles are being so well managed. I have not been nearly as circumspect, though I have suspended my Net Galley account and unsubscribed from a swag of email distribution lists in an attempt to cut down on temptation. Of course the one thing I should do is unsubscribe from this blog and the FF room but I’m not prepared to go that far. Yet.๐Ÿ™‚

  3. ha ha, Bernadette! I suspended NetGalley too, for similar reasons. Although I don’t mind reading e-books, I do prefer the print format, so it is not too hard to keep the Kindle queue down, it mainly consists of special e-only offers too tempting to ignore. What has put me into the current danger is re-joining Twitter recently…..as this is another source as well as FF, blogs, Amazon, etc. help!

  4. Maxine,
    Keeping up with CWA International Dagger in mind,I read
    Esmahon Aykol -Hotel Bosphorus -and was disappointed.
    The new Domingo Villar is superb –and better than his first
    one. I have started the new Fred Vargas–wonderful-as always-
    Surely she can’t win the CWA International Dagger for a
    staggering fourth time??

  5. Maxine – You are, indeed, doing quite well at managing your to-read list. Better than I am, I must admit. I’ll be really eager to read what you think of 66 Degrees North, Track of Sand, Fifth Witness… See what I mean? I must be stopped. Now๐Ÿ˜‰.

  6. Thanks, Margot, and sorry for being evil again๐Ÿ˜‰.

    And thank you, Simon. I’m so pleased to read what you write about the Villar, as I so much liked his first. Pity about Hotel Bosphorous, which is on my list as it would be my first Turkish crime. Vargas – yes, I wonder, as it has gone down very well among some of our regular reading group, one of whom is particularly influential in CWA terms!

  7. Love your posts. I always find new authors and great books. Only frustrating thing for me is a lot of the books I can’t get in the US yet….which means I’m spending more money at Amazon UK. Good for them, bad for my handbag! Keep up the great posts.

  8. What a list! And though I suspect you agree with me that The Hypnotist may be exciting but not very credible, I am looking forward to your review.

    I may be able to limit myself to add Brian McGilloway and M.R. Hall to my wish list, but though my physical TBR is smaller than in January, I have not done too well lately. Not your fault (only); blame it on AwesomeBooks who have introduced free shipping to DK๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. I love the Palliser series and re-read them every few years. I also have the public TV series that was based on the novels in DVD format. Anthony Trolloppe is tied with Mark Twain for my favorite author. Most of the novels that they wrote are sitting on my bookshelf ready to be picked up again.

  10. Wonderful list as always, Maxine. I will take notes later as I’m rushing out. The Vargas is on my TBR list, probably my TBP (To Be Purchased) list, as books take too long to get to the States. Sorry to hear about Hotel Bosphorus. Read The Track of Sand, thought it was okay, not one of Camilleri’s best.
    And for purchases in the States of global books, try the Book Depository. They do not charge shipping nor tax costs; often are even cheaper than Amazon U.S. which does.
    A relative of mine is reading the Trollope series, loves it. I just found the library here has it on dvd from the BBC, which I am looking forward to seeing…I just can’t read such weighty (heavy) tomes these days.

  11. Maxine, can’t wait to hear what you think of The Hypnotist. Tiina and I read an early version in Swedish, but the wild, wacky ending was changed before it was published. Nobody gets eaten by a bear after all…

    Saw CJ here in Albuquerque last week, and he was a really nice guy with some very amusing stories to tell. Bought his collected works in paperback so I have some good stuff to read this summer.

  12. Thanks, Steve, I’ve been following CJ’s tour on Twitter, must be fun seeing him in Wyoming. I’m still a few books behind but am continuing to enjoy them.

    Jennifer, it might be worth checking out the Book Depository. For people in the UK it is no cheaper than Amazon, but people outside the UK say that it is cheaper for them.

  13. Pingback: Read, reading, to read: end-April update | Petrona

Comments are closed.