What’s in a name challenge, old and new year

An old (2010) and new (2011) year challenge is the “what’s in a name” challenge, featured at Fleur Fisher, DJ’s Krimiblog and elsewhere. I managed to do both years from the books I’d reviewed in 2010. (Click on book title for the review.)

The old year (2010) challenge.

A book with a food in the title:
The Dinner Club by Saskia Noort

A book with a body of water in the title:
River of Shadows by Valerio Varesi

A book with a person’s title in the title:
The Inspector and Silence by Hakan Nesser

A book with a plant in the title:
The Poison Tree by Erin Kelly

A book with a place name in the title:
The Demon of Dakar by Kjell Eriksson

A book with a music term in the title:
The Siren by Alison Bruce

The new year (2011) challenge

A book with a number in the title:
Three Seconds by Roslund-Hellstrom

A book with jewelry or a gem in the title:
The Eye of Jade by Diane Wei Liang

A book with a size in the title:
Hidden Depths by Ann Cleeves

A book with travel or movement in the title:
American Visa by Juan de Recacoechea

A book with evil in the title:
Bad Intentions by Karin Fossum

A book with a life stage in the title:
The Last Child by John Hart

If this particular game does not appeal, Karen has rounded up several of the current reading challenges over at the Euro Crime blog.

9 thoughts on “What’s in a name challenge, old and new year

  1. Maxine – I like your choices for this challenge! I think you’ve chosen some good reads for 2011. As always, I very much look forward to your reviews. I thought the Liang book gave a very interesting look at the part of China where the novel takes place, and of course, I like Cleeves’ work very much. I hope you won’t be disappointed.

  2. I have to admit I cheated, Margot, as I’ve already read all the “2011” books – but perhaps I should look for another set that fulfil the criteria, with different words, that I haven’t yet read, to meet the obligation correctly!

  3. How fast you are😀

    I hoped I could find a solution to my “gem” problem here, but after having read your review of “The Eye of Jade” I am not sure it is my taste.

    • It was OK, Dorte, I liked the “local colour” but the crime plot was not up to it. There is always Jill Paton-Walsh’s The Attenbury Emeralds, the Peter Wimsey “sequel” I suppose (I have not read it but it’s been well-reviewed) – or even Diamonds are Forever😉

  4. Thank you, Maxine. Just a question: Are you posting your top reads of 2010 with ratings? I think I remember you did post such a list but without stars, but then we could look up the reviews. Can you let me know?
    Thanks a lot.
    Also, I needed a reading refreshment break and read “The Smell of the Night,” by Camilleri. I laughed so hard I almost forgot a death was involved, which was so far off the page that it was barely there.

    • Hello Kathy, I shall be posting my top reads of 2101, after Karen runs her annual list from the Euro Crime reviewers, probably later this week. So watch this space! Glad you enjoyed the Camilleri, his books are always a tonic.

  5. Thanks much. Yes, I’m looking forward to Eurocrime’s list and to yours, both of which I’ll print out. There’s so much to read. The challenges are daunting. After I read Camilleri, I read a U.S. author, Gregg Hurwitz, who is a thriller-writer. Leaving tasks undone, bills unpaid, ensconced in my warm apartment, I read “The Crime Writer” until the last page was turned. It’s a good, fast-paced book. But I miss globals.

Comments are closed.