New-to-me authors in 2010

Following on from posts at Reactions to Reading, View from the Blue House, The Game’s Afoot* and some other blogs, I have had a look over the books I’ve reviewed in 2010 to see how many of them are by authors new to me. I make the total 70. (I have read more books than I’ve reviewed, including several that I could not finish, so my total below is an underestimate.)
*Update: Other selections are now up at Crime Scraps and Euro Crime.

Many of these books are very enjoyable. I have made a ranking of:

A (bold) – Absolutely spot-on
B (italic) – Bravo
C – Creditable
D – Doubtful
E – Erroneous

I apologise for not providing links to my reviews in the list below, a casualty of my export of this blog to the new platform is that I have lost many links. I hope that if you want to read any of my reviews, you can use the excellent Euro Crime database or, for those posted here at Petrona, the date archive to the right of the post.

E – The Girl with the Crystal Eyes by Barbara Baraldi (Euro Crime, November) Italy.
B – Blacklands by Belinda Bauer (Petrona, October) England.
C – Badfellas by Tonino Benacquista (Petrona, April) France.
E – The Library of Shadows by Mikkel Birkegaard (Petrona, May) Denmark.
C – Sacrifice by S. J. Bolton (Petrona, January) England.
C – Cambridge Blue by Alison Bruce (Euro Crime, July) England.
B – The Guards by Ken Bruen (Petrona, October) Ireland.
A – Poisonville by Massimo Carlotto and Marco Videtta (Petrona, April) Italy.
C – The Missing by Jane Casey (Petrona, November) England.
C – Chinatown Beat by Henry Chang (Petrona, August) USA.
D – Cemetery Lake by Paul Cleave (Petrona, October) New Zealand.
C – Kind of Blue by Miles Corwin (Petrona, November) USA.
A – The Last Fix by K. O. Dahl (Petrona, April) Norway.
D – American Visa by Juan de Recacoechea (Petrona, August) Bolivia.
A – Witness the Night by Kishwar Desai (Euro Crime, August) India.
A – The Dragon Man by Garry Disher (Petrona, August) Australia.
A – The Screaming of the Innocent by Unity Dow (Petrona, November) Botswana.
C – The Woman Before Me by Ruth Dugdall (Petrona, September) England.
C – In the Wind by Barbara Fister (Petrona, June) USA.
B – At Close Quarters by Eugenio Fuentes (Euro Crime, April) Spain.
B – The Silence of the Rain by Luiz Alfredo Garcia-Roza (Petrona, August) Brazil.
C – Siren of the Waters by Michael Genelin (Petrona, January) USA (setting: Slovakia).
C – Vodka Doesn’t Freeze by Leah Giarratano (Petrona, July) Australia.
A – Winterland by Alan Glynn (Euro Crime, July) Ireland.
C – Murder on Page Three by Ella Griffiths (Petrona, January) Norway.
A – The Crossing Places by Elly Griffiths (Petrona, February) England.
B – Inspector Cataldo’s Criminal Summer by Luigi Guicciaradi (Petrona, April) Italy.
A – The Build Up by Phillip Gwynne (Petrona, October) Australia.
C – The Last Child by John Hart (Petrona, June) USA.
E – Tell Tale by Sam Hayes (Petrona, September) England.
C – Blood Sunset by Jarad Henry (Petrona, January) Australia.
A – The Unit by Ninni Holmqvist (Petrona, May) Sweden.
C – Silent Counsel by Ken Isaacson (Petrona, September) USA.
D – Acts of Violence by Ryan David Jahn (Petrona, August) USA.
C – The Pull of the Moon by Diane Janes (Euro Crime, May) England.
C – The Poison Tree by Erin Kelly (Euro Crime, June) England.
A – Rupture (aka 1000 Cuts) by Simon Lelic (Euro Crime, April) England.
C – Black Water Rising by Attica Locke (Petrona, July) USA.
C – Almost Blue by Carlo Lucarelli (Petrona, June) Italy.
C – Sister by Rosamund Lupton (Petrona, October) England.
D – The Marx Sisters by Barry Maitland (Petrona, June) Australia.
A – Needle in a Haystack by Ernesto Mallo (Petrona, August) Argentina.
B – Che Committed Suicide by Petros Markaris (Euro Crime, May) Greece.
C – All The Colours of the Town by Liam McIlvanney (Petrona, Sept) NZ (set Scotland).
A – Entanglement by Zygmunt Miloszewski (Petrona, July) Poland.
B – All She Was Worth by Miyuki Miyabe (Petrona, June) Japan.
E – Hit by Tara Moss (Euro Crime, August) Australia.
D – Audition by Ryu Murakami (Petrona, October) Japan.
D – The Twelve by Stuart Neville (Petrona, July) Ireland.
C – Twisted Wing by Ruth Newman (Petrona, May) England.
B – Midnight Cab by James W. Nichol (Petrona, September) Canada.
B – A Beautiful Place to Die by Malla Nunn (Petrona, August) South Africa.
C – Raid and the Blackest Sheep by Harri Nykanen (Petrona, November) Finland.
D – Like Clockwork by Margie Orford (Petrona, January) South Africa.
B – No-one Loves a Policeman by Guillermo Orsi (Petrona, June) Argentina.
D – Havana Red by Leonardo Padura (Petrona, August) Cuba.
B – Thursday Night Widows by Claudia Pinerio (Petrona, February) Argentina.
C – Peepshow by Leigh Redhead (Petrona, December) Australia.
C – Experimental Heart by Jennifer L Rohn (Petrona, October) USA (setting England).
B – The Vault (Box 21) by Roslund-Hellstrom (Petrona, January) Sweden.
C – Last Light by Alex Scarrow (Petrona, February) England.
C – Snow Angels by James Thompson (Petrona, March) USA (Finland setting).
B – The Reunion by Simone van der Vlugt (Petrona, January) The Netherlands.
C – River of Shadows by Valerio Varesi (Euro Crime, September) Italy.
A – Water-blue Eyes by Domingo Villar (Petrona, May) Spain.
C – The Eye of Jade by Diane Wei Liang (Petrona, March) China.
A – The Lying Tongue by Andrew Wilson (Euro Crime, March) England/Italy.
D – Death of a Red Heroine by Qiu Xiaolong (Petrona, March) China.
C – A Certain Malice by Felicity Young (Petrona, April) Australia.
D – Dark Matter by Juli Zeh (Euro Crime, April) Germany.

9 thoughts on “New-to-me authors in 2010

  1. I copied your list and stored it so I can find inspiration the next time I need some good books for the wish list.

    My own list is almost ready, but I won´t put it up until after Christmas as it is some kind of status report for 2010. I have not read quite as many new writers as you, but it is interesting to see that in my pre-blogging days I mostly read writers I already knew. In 2009 I read 34 new writers, and this year I will hit c 60.

  2. I began by copying lists of Dagger nominees which had been read here and rated, and then trying to read the top starred books. I print out every list and will do so with this one and add it to the 2011 TBR list.

  3. And I wound up here, printing this list and coded list of books, knowing I’ll get lots of good books and authors. Thanks.

  4. Fortunately I already have many of these books/authors on my TBR or wishlist thanks to your earlier instructions reviews – still I will need to bookmark this page for later analysis and to make sure I haven’t missed anything.

Comments are closed.