R J Ellory sets Book Depository competition

Ellory2 Ellory2 To celebrate R.J. Ellory winning the Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2010 with A Simple Act of Violence, the Book Depository is running a competition in which the prize is an iPod touch pre-loaded with 20 books.

The competition is not the usual mindless exercise but consists of 10 questions set by the winning author. The first five questions are based on Ellory's Anniversary Man and next five based on real-life serial killers – and they are sufficiently fiendish to be of a level familiar to those who attempt the challenges regularly set by Norman of Crime Scraps!

The competition closing date is 17 September 2010, and from the terms and conditions, seems to be open to anyone, world-wide. I'm not going to be entering because I haven't read any books (yet) by R. J. Ellory and I am not interested in "real-life serial killers". But the prize is certainly attractive so anyone who is knowledgeable about either of those topics might want to give this a try. Let me know if you win!

The Book Depository.

Direct link to the competition page at The Book Depository website.

5 thoughts on “R J Ellory sets Book Depository competition

  1. I must admit my first thought was “oh no I don’t want to win any more of his books” which was perhaps mean as I’ve only read one. But I certainly don’t need another iPod anyway🙂

  2. Maxine – Thanks for this competition information. I’ve got an iPod, myself, and like Bernadette, am not sure how I’d feel about one that was loaded with his books, so I probably won’t enter, but it is an intriguing competition idea!

  3. Setting quiz questions about your own books reminds me of a Desert Island Discs program some years ago when the records chosen by Elisabeth Schwarzkopf were all by Elisabeth Schwarzkopf.
    Thanks for the mention Maxine I will indeed have another quiz ready for November/December, but with no real life serial killers.

  4. Well, I suppose as there are 20 books pre-loaded on the ipod, I imagine they can’t all be his! Perhaps the rest are real-life serial killer books, though ;-(.

Comments are closed.