My selections for “Triple Choice Tuesday” at Reading Matters

Earlier this week, I was honoured to be featured as part of the Triple Choice Tuesday series at Reading Matters, the blog of Australian reader Kimbofo (a.k.a. Kim). Reading Matters is a lovely blog, and one I have read right since I first discovered blogs (before I began one myself). That, together with Light Reading, showed me the true way. The true way being that one could write about reading on the Internet 
Booksand hence find other people, from Australia to Spain, from Canada to Denmark, from Ireland to the USA to New Zealand, or scattered throughout England, who share one's interests in this strange but compelling solitary pursuit of the mind.

I've been a keen reader since (apparently) the age of about three, when I am told I read out letters from slogans on the side of buses. I remember learning to read: the books were the Janet and John series and my father underlined every new word we encountered with a yellow crayon. I have my late father to thank for instilling in me a love of reading, and both my parents for always buying me a stack of books for every birthday and Christmas while I was growing up. As a family, my sisters, parents and I spent many an evening in quietness, all reading books.

I have read many great novels in my time, but these days I read mainly crime fiction. It's not great literature, but some of it is definitely superior fare (particularly translated novels). I feel a lot, and learn a lot, from reading it. As one who lives a largely solitary life even while surrounded by people, whether work or family, the books I read are my friends.

Enough of all this unusual introspection. Please do check out Triple Choice Tuesday to see my selections of a favourite book, a book that changed my world, and a book that deserves a wider audience. If you don't already know Kim's blog Reading Matters, I highly recommend it as a regular source of reading information and reviews of "mainly contemporary and modern fiction", often with an Australian or Irish accent. 

10 thoughts on “My selections for “Triple Choice Tuesday” at Reading Matters

  1. Maxine – You’ve chosen some excellent novels, I think. And thanks for pointing me towards such a terrific blog. I appreciate it.

  2. Thank you so much, Margot. Kim’s blog really is good, so I hope you enjoy following it as much as I do.

  3. Great post. I also love most of Jane Austen´s novels, particularly Emma and Pride and Prejudice, and my daughters have also begun reading her recently.
    And thank you for your recommendation of Peter Høgh´s fine novel. I agree on the thriller ending but still love the book. I wish the setting was Antarctica, though😀

  4. I could never get into Jane Austen books. When I was younger, I was reading John Steinbeck, Theodore Dreiser, Somerset Maugham, A.J. Cronin, Arthur Conan Doyle, Rex Stout, Dorothy Sayers…lots of male writers, although I do like women writers much.
    Thank you for the information on the two blogs.
    And on Smilla’s Sense of Snow–I loved that book 3/4 through and then got so upset at the last 1/4 which turned into a mundane thriller, full of violence. I agree with your opinion. But I got so turned off, I’d never recommend it nor read any of Hoeg’s other books. The movie was not that good and it was hard to follow. I don’t know how anyone could follow it if they hadn’t read the book.

  5. I guess it’s not surprising that I agree with almost everything you said about all three books…thinking about it a bit longer I think Mansfield Park is actually my favourite Austen book at the moment – I’ve always thought Fanny Price was a bit unusual among the Austen women.

  6. The trouble with Austen’s books is that the more I think of each, the more I am convinced it is my favourite. (Well, out of S&S, P&P, Emma, Persuasion and Mansfield Park, anyway. I don’t think Nothanger Abbey is quite as good. ..Hmm, maybe, on thinking about it……😉
    k- on the basis of having read one and maybe two more books by Peter H, I don’t think you have missed anything. Miss Smilla was his “one book”. (or do I mean, “three quarters book”?)

  7. Yes, 3/4 of a book. It shocked me that it became this crazed thriller. Sorry about Jane Austen; I never got her appeal although my sister loves her books. I think it’s a class and period warp for me.

  8. Each to her own! (or his own) There are many books that people rave about that I have not liked. I can only think that Hoeg ran out of ideas for what to do with his creation, in Miss Smilla. That or he felt an apocalyptic thriller element was necessary for sales.

  9. Oui, Chacun a son gout. It’s all a matter of taste in reading, art, music, more. It is amazing to learn what some people like or hate, people you know well, people who know each other. Friends love thrillers, hate thrillers, love cozies, hate cozies, love international books, hate them, love Lee Childs, don’t love Lee Childs, love Fred Vargas (Me!), don’t get Fred Vargas, love Donna Leon, can’t stand Donna Leon (yes, I know this person), love Indridasson, don’t love him, love Tana French (me!), don’t love her. Some people like violence, some hate it, some like sexism in books, others hate it, some like espionage, some not, some like slow, deliberative character-building plots; others want fast-paced, never stop thrillers.

Comments are closed.