New UK fiction for August

Ceder  We have seen a paperback preview for August in the UK, but what can we look forward to for newly published fiction in that same month (if you can stand it)? The most recent Bookseller (7 May cover date, received at Petrona Towers 8 May) reveals some of the titles to which we can look forward.

For those interested in translated fiction, we can eagerly anticipate Frozen Moment by Camilla Ceder, translated by Marlaine Delargy and published by Weidenfeld & Nicholson, a debut novel in which Inspector Christian Tell investigates an unusual murder in a small town on the Swedish coast. The spectacularly crass cover words above the title read "Move over Wallander". Sigh. Not the author's fault, of course.

Another promising title is Silence by Jan Costin Wagner (Harvill), in which Finnish detective Kimmo Joentaa (first encountered in the lovely Ice Moon) investigates the disappearance of a young girl. The case has similarities to an unsolved murder 33 years previously. This one is translated by Anthea Bell.

I can't detect any other translated crime fiction in the Bookseller list (it isn't straightforward as they don't state whether or not a book is translated in their blurbs), but of interest to "placeists" might be The Dogs 
JCW2of Rome by Conor Fitzgerald (Bloomsbury), another debut which is the first of a planned series set in Rome, featuring Chief Inspector Alec Blume (not a very Italian name). In this novel, the spouse of an elected member of the senate is found murdered and Blume discovers "worrying shortcuts in the enquiry".

Another interesting title is Let the Dead Lie by Malla Nunn (Macmillan), apparently a follow-up to A Beautiful Place to Die (reviewed here by Bernadette)  set in South Africa in the 1950s. In this new novel, Inspector Emmanuel Cooper discovers a body in the docks and is "led into Durban's murky underworld".

Another novel that looks of interest is Faithful Place by Tana French (Hodder), a psychological thriller that seems not to be part of the series that formed her first two novels. This one is about a 19-year-old who planned to run away to London with his girlfriend. But she did not turn up and he didn't hear from her for 20 years, when he gets a phone call saying that her suitcase has been found. Sounds an intriguing hook. I might well check this out, despite being a bit disappointed in The Likeness, her second novel, after the promise of the first, In The Woods.

There are lots of other books due for publication in August of course. I'll mention just a few of them here: Dictator by Tom Cain (Bantam), the third installment of the Sam Carver series started in Accident Man; Tigerlily's Orchids by Ruth Rendell (Hutchinson) which seems to be one of her standalones; Bad Boy by Peter Robinson (Hodder), nineteenth in the Inspector Banks series; The Reborn by Lin Anderson (Hodder), the latest in the Rhona MacLeod (forensic scientist) series; Free Country by Jeremy Duns (Simon and Schuster), sequel to Free Agent; and Started Early, Took my Dog by Kate Atkinson (Doubleday), the fourth novel to feature Jackson Brodie who first appeared in the renowned Case Histories.

9 thoughts on “New UK fiction for August

  1. Maxine – Thanks for this sampler. Some of those books sound really interesting : ). I’ll be eager to hear if they live up to their promise, especially the Malla Nunn book.

  2. I am certainly looking forward to Atkinson, Rendell and Tana French.
    But perhaps I should ´test´ Frozen Moment for you? I have it in Danish from the library, and I agree that it looks promising. I would like to read Rob´s book soon, but I think it is foolish to return free books to the library if I really want to read them.

  3. Good idea, Dorte, please do “preview” Frozen Moment! Look forward to your opinion. And thanks also for your comment, Margot, I am looking forward to reading the first Malla Nunn after Bernadette’s review. A colleague at work sent me a copy so it is just ready and waiting…..

  4. Now that I have discovered Book Depository’s pre-order facility, which often offers books at less than 10 of my dollars, I devour these ‘upcoming’ posts of yours even more than I used to. Depending on which way you look at it you are either enabling an addict or saving me money by helping my cheaply the things I need😉 I’m definitely going to check for both of those translated novels you mention.
    I have one book on order that isn’t due to be delivered until mid January next year. Thankfully I have a couple of books to keep me busy in the interim.

  5. Please forgive typos above – cold fingers from my walk to work this morning. Sadly the Camilla Ceder is not available on BD (yet) but the Jan Costin Wagner title is happily available on pre-order and I’ve got them to put one aside for me🙂

  6. Comment as often as you like, Bernadette! I’m so glad you managed to get at least one of these on pre-order. I’m definitely going to read them both, somehow and by some means!

  7. Can’t wait for Tana French’s new book, liked her first two. Actually, the third book is tangentially tied to the first two. The main character is a policeman who was a colleague of the main character’s in “The Likeness.” It’s about his girlfriend.
    I read about these books and then again growl about why they’re not in the U.S. faster and in some cases, not in the public library for ages or even at all.

  8. Yes, and cheers to the new Kate Atkinson book about Jackson Brodie. Didn’t know he’d reappear, am glad.

  9. PS It might be better to read Ice Moon before Silence. Ice Moon introduces the main character and explains his state of mind. It’s haunting, funny (character of the boss) and short.

Comments are closed.