What to read in August?

"Most publishers reduce their new book output in August, leaving space for the new hopefuls to shine", writes Sarah Broadhurst in the 23 April Bookseller in her introduction to the paperback preview for that month. Looking through her selections of what is on offer, I 
Herrings  see quite a few that might be tempting to take along on holiday, notably The Water's Edge by Karin Fossum, a truly dark Norwegian crime novel and what looks to be the only translated novel in this set. (Translated by Charlotte Barslund, who I can now state with authority is both charming and exceedingly glamorous.) Elly Griffiths's second Ruth Galloway novel, The Janus Stone, is out in paperback. I very much enjoyed the first, The Crossing Places, and in fact have the hardback of the second on my shelf from the ever-generous publisher, Quercus. I'm certainly looking forward to that.

Also out is Neil Cross's bleak little number, Captured, which is, as the Bookseller puts it, a "brutal tale of revenge getting out of hand…very much a one-sitting book". I can also recommend David Levien's Where the Dead Lay, but I think it is best appreciated if you have read the first, City of the Sun. Books that I haven't read, but which look good, are The Flesh Tailor, Kate Ellis's latest Wesley Peterson story; All the Colours of the Town by Liam McIlvanney, Ravens by George Dawes Green – "a quiet build of menacing terror….a domestic thriller with great characterisation"; Ten Little Herrings by L. C. Tyler;
Wash shad   Washington Shadow by Aly Monroe; and All the Pretty Girls by J T Ellison, the UK debut of a US bestselling series.

There are a few "top sellers" due out, of course. Among them are The Complaints by Ian Rankin; The Monster in the Box by Ruth Rendell; U is for Undertow by Sue Grafton; and A Room Swept White by Sophie Hannah. Skipping over a few unappealing-looking novels, I'll conclude this post by mentioning Think of a Numb3er by John Verdun, a paperback original "full of tension and intrigue as weird puzzles mystify the police." Hard to believe it is a first novel, according to the Bookseller. As the "s" word (serial killer) is not mentioned, perhaps I will take a further look at this one.

5 thoughts on “What to read in August?

  1. Great recommendations. So glad “The Janus Stone” is out and in paperback, too. Wonder if it’s in New York yet.

  2. Do you keep your older posts? I’m asking because I want to keep the Daggers’ list and some other things and am wondering if I need to print them out or can get them at this blogsite.

  3. Oh, I am absolutely sure I wrote a comment here yesterday.
    I am looking forward to Rendell, Rankin, Hannah and Grafton. And Miriam assures me that the Janus Stone is every bit as good as Griffith´s debut.
    I went to the library the other day, though, so I have ten books on my immediate TBR, mainly Scandinavian (and a sore throat which is a good excuse to lie down with a book).

Comments are closed.