Miss Marple and Kinsey Millhone are the winners

As the "male version" of the favourite detective competition nears its close, with the final two contestants being Philip Marlowe and Harry Bosch, I thought it would be a good time to reveal the choices made for the favourite female detective. On a straight count, giving each suggestion one vote, the winners, in a tie, are Miss Marple and Kinsey Millhone, closely followed by V I Washawski and Lisbeth Salander. Kathleen Mallory and Barbara Havers receive honourable mentions. The rest of the characters I have listed received one vote each, though I have disqualified Nancy Drew because the author is a pseudonym for many authors. 

Agatha Christie's Miss Jane Marple (5)Miss m  

Sue Grafton's Kinsey Millhone (5)

Sara Paretsky's V. I. Warshawski (4)

Stieg Larsson's Lisbeth Salander (3)

Carol O'Connell's Kathleen Mallory (2)

Elizabeth George's Barbara Havers (2)

Sue g


The following all received one vote:

Leah Giarratano's Jill Jackson 

Asa Larsson's Rebecka Martinsson

Arianna Franklin's Adelia Aguilar

Gladys Mitchell's Mrs Bradley

Rebecca Cantrell's Hannah Vogel

Sara pColin Cotterill's Nurse Dtui

Laura Lippman's Tess Monaghan

Imogen Robertson's Harriet Westerman

Ian Rankin's Siobhan Clarke

Alicia Gimenez Bartlett's Petra Delicado

Rosa Ribas's Cornelia Weber-Tejedor

LisbethVanda Symon's Sam Shephard

Ann Cleeves's Vera Stanhope

Alexander McCall Smith's Precious Ramotswe

Adrian Hyland's Emily Tempest

Dorothy L Sayers's Harriet Vane

Fanny Fiske

OconnellNancy Drew (disq.)

Stella Blomqvist

Helene Tursten's Irene Huss

Liza Cody's Anna Lee

Barbara Seranella's Munch Mancini

Liza Cody's Eva Wylie 

Marcia Muller's Sharon McCone

J. D. Robb's Eve Dallas

Over at Friend Feed, Mack wonders "how specific one could get in the "favorite" game. Favorite former alcoholic ex-cop now a private detective, Mathew Scudder vs Jack Taylor (Jack wins for me); favorite friend of the detective who could kill you instantly, Pike vs Ranger vs Hawk (my fav. is Pike). With the range of crime/mystery fiction there are lots of favorites possibilities." I must have a think about the possibilities!

5 thoughts on “Miss Marple and Kinsey Millhone are the winners

  1. Maxine – Thanks for announcing the winners. I have to admit I’m glad that Miss Marple did so well, as I like her : ). Of course, I like Vera Stanhope and Precious Ramotswe, too, and they fared less well.
    You bring up an interesting question about how specific we need to get in these categories. I think there is such a thing as getting too specific, but it’s a lot of fun to think about what those categories might be. I’ll have to put my mind to that, too…🙂

  2. See life always deals a fair hand – I really can’t abide Miss Marple but I do have a very big soft spot for Kinsey Millhone. From my perspective this is a much better outcome than the other tournament as I don’t particularly like either of the finalists in that one.

  3. Interesting, although not entirely surprising. Marple was ineligible for the ‘World’s Favourite Detective’ competition Jen was running, as an amateur sleuth (that contest was only for police and licensed PIs), and Millhone I believe did the best out of the female detectives there (although several male detectives written by female writers also did well).
    Unfortunately in that competition VI Warshawski and Millhone were randomly drawn together in the first round, knocking out one popular and strong female contender straight away – so several others like Ellie Hatcher, Tess Monaghan, and Precious Ramotswe all actually went further than Warshawski.

  4. I wish I’d seen this before now as I’d vote for V.I. Warshawski, hands down, the first woman p.i. I read of jumping into the Chicago canal, fighting, her courage and feistiness unequalled. Maybe now it is equalled with so many women p.i.’s worldwide who are tough and brave, but for me she was the first one. And like her issues, too, her morality.

Comments are closed.