This is getting out of control

First rule Markaris_greece Solar_272 Down river

I am not quite sure how this happened, but I have four new books to read, acquired in the past two days. First, Karen of Euro Crime has kindly given me a publisher's copy of Down River by John Hart. I had told Karen I was quite interested in this author when we were last in Waterstones Piccadilly and were looking at Last Child on the shelves. A day or so after that, Last Child was "book of the week" at W H Smiths, which means you can get a copy for £2.99 if you by The Times, which is good for me as I buy The Times every day anyway. So, I bought my copy in WHS one day, but the branch I was in was very small and did not stock books. I therefore went to another, bigger branch that night with my copy of the paper and asked if I could buy the book. "No!" said the lady behind the till, rather shocked. "That would count as a separate transaction." She was pretty abrupt, so I decided I would not give WHS the satisfaction of any of my hard-earned cash for a while, to punish them. Karen, however, had a copy of the earlier book, Down River, so I've now got that instead. Thanks, Karen!

Also thanks to Karen, I have a publisher copy of Che Committed Suicide by Petros Markaris, "an Inspector Haritos mystery". I've had my eye on this book for a while, not least because it is on the list of books eligible for this year's CWA International Dagger  award, as many as possible of which I am trying to read before the shortlist is announced at CrimeFest in May. After reading Norman's review at Crime Scraps, I was even keener. The publisher, Arcadia books, have kindly sent me a copy which arrived two days ago. I don't think I have read any Greek crime fiction before (apart from the ancients), so this one will be a refreshing change of geography.

Finally, I admit I cracked. Amazon sent me an email to tell me that if I wanted Solar by Ian McEwan for £7.59 and The First Rule by Robert Crais for £5.84, I'd better get on with it as the price will go up after Sunday (the "offer of the week" changeover day). As I want to read these books anyway, and the price is brilliant, in each case, for a newly published hardback, I weakened to the point of clicking. This morning, the books arrived.

In the meantime, I am still reading the same book I have been reading all week, The Man from Beijing by Henning Mankell. I've nearly finished it now, though – well I am on page 283 of 360 – so the next book is definitely beckoning.

5 thoughts on “This is getting out of control

  1. Maxine – Oh, it sounds as though you have some terrific books waiting for you!! I’m very happy for you that you were able to get your hands on so many, even if it is overwhelming. I will be looking forward to seeing what you think of them. I, too, have been wanting to read The First Rule and Down River has sounded interesting to me, so I will be very interested in your reviews. Happy reading! : )

  2. I had a proof of The First Rule and can confirm that it’s up to Robert Crais’ usual high standard. I’ve not read any John Hart, perhaps I should give him a try – when I get down my TBR pile a bit!

  3. LOL. I knew what this post would be about when I saw the title🙂. I have had loads of review books delivered this week but so few are actually on topic ie euro crime (fiction) and it’s what to do with the rest. At the moment I’m just piling them up on the floor.
    Interestingly (to me) my ebook of TMfB is 312 pages and I’m 1/3 in now and enjoying it.

  4. Poor you; being persecuted and swamped by good books!
    And imagine that you thought you could buy a book in a “separate transaction!” LOL

  5. Dorte, the funny thing is, I have succeeded in this way several times previously at WHS. Sometimes I see the book that is being promoted, go in and say “can I buy this for £2.99?” and they say “oh yes, plese do!” So I am not sure what was going on with this particular lady but I shall definitely remember that “separate transaction” line, it is a good one!!
    Karen – LOL indeed. Have finished man from B now – fabulous. In fact I have just been drafting my review (sunday). This morning I started Rapture (lelic) WOW! fantastic. Can’t bear to put it down but I had to go and make 3 breakfasts (it is like a hotel here) and then I thought I’d better draft MfB review before I forgot it all….
    Pat – thanks! Robert C has never let me down yet.

Comments are closed.