International Dagger update and judges revealed!

Dragon The Crime Writers Association (CWA) has updated its website in anticipation of the Dagger awards for 2010. It is quite hard to find this, but the trick is to go to the "rules" page, which encourages publishers to submit eligible books for each category of award, and scroll down. The category that interests me the most, as it will be no surprise to know, is the International Dagger – which you'll see on the tabs along the bottom of the rules page. I am doing my best to read the eligible titles, in the hope of having some good knowledge of the eventual shortlist, which will be announced at Crime Fest (the 2010 programme is now up at the festival's website).  

Shortlist announcement
On 21st May, 2010 the shortlist will be announced at CrimeFest at a special party hosted by the organisers. To facilitate this, the submission dates have altered slightly so please be aware of the earlier closing date of March 12th, 2010.

What jumps out at me, however, is the pre-eminence of the judging panel. Here it is:


Chair: Ann Cleeves
Karen Meek
John Murray-Browne
Ruth Morse

Yes, that's Karen! Congratulations to Karen on being selected as a judge. I feel so honoured to know such a renowned person. And naturally, I am looking forward to the shortlist announcement with even keener interest than before.

Previous posts about my attempts to read the books eligible for the 2010 International Dagger:

1 December 2009. I've read 9 of the possible 61 novels, and provide links to my reviews of 8 of these.

16 January 2010. I've read Death in Oslo and The Woman from Bratislava.

13 February 2010. Progress report.

15 February 2010. A review of Thursday Night Widows, one more on the list.

4 March 2010. I've read Thirteen Hours and have started on At Close Quarters.

This brings my grand total up to FIFTEEN (so far – about a quarter of the list):

Mikkel Birkegaard – The Library of Shadows
Andrea Camilleri – August Heat
Leif Davidsen – The Woman from Bratislava
Karin Fossum – The Water's Edge
Petra Hammesfahr – The Lie
Anne Holt – Death in Oslo
Arnaldur Indridason – Hypothermia
Camilla Lackberg – The Stonecutter
Stieg Larsson – The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets' Nest
Deon Meyer – Thirteen Hours
Jo Nesbo – The Snowman
Claudia Pineiro – Thursday Night Widows
Andrea Maria Schenkel – Ice Cold
Gunnar Staalesen – The Consorts of Death
Johan Theorin – The Darkest Room