Alphabet in crime fiction: Quigley

Q The crime fiction alphabet has rolled round to "Q", and as I am working through authors' surnames, I have to confess I am stuck. The only author whose name begins with Q and whom I can recall reading is Sheila Quigley. I have read one of her books, Run for Home, in the days when I was in a book club and this debut was the recommendation one month. I can't remember all that much about it, except that it is a bit like a Martina Cole/Lynda La Plante cross, set in the north of England, written in dialect, and involving abducted children, not my favourite topic. Here's the blurb from the author's website:

In 1985: a man runs for his life – exhausted, wounded, hunted remorselessly by a woman assassin known only as The Head Hunter. At the end, he has just enough energy to spit in her face.
In 2001:sixteen-year-old Kerry Lumsdon runs across the same terrain. She runs to win and she runs to forget.
Run When a headless body is found in the wastelands of the Seahills Estate, Detective Inspector Lorraine Hunt is called in to investigate. Kerry and Lorraine, different ages and from different worlds, come together when Claire Lumsdon, Kerry's sister, is violently kidnapped – the fourth in a series of abductions of young girls.
Headstrong, wilful and convinced the police can't help, Kerry sets out on a frantic search of her own. But her hunt takes her to a world she never knew existed: a violent underworld; a sixteen year old murder; and, finally, to secrets about her own past which her mother hoped she'd never have to face.
And all the time, the clock is ticking for Claire.

Sheila Quigley has written four novels since then, Bad Moon Rising (review by Sharon Wheeler at Reviewing the Evidence); Living on a Prayer (review at Euro Crime by Pat Austen); Every Breath You Take (review at Euro Crime by Michelle Peckham); and most recently, The Road To Hell (book description at the author's website, including a link to a trailer on YouTube). All five novels are set in the Seahills Estate, a fictitious estate in Houghton-le-Spring, north-east England and feature DI Lorraine Hunt. There's a map of the estate at the author's website.

Sheila Quigley was a grandmother of eight, living in a council house in the north east of England, when she signed a £300,000 two-book deal with Random House. Now published by Tonto Books, I will leave the last word with author Tess Gerritsen: "Sheila Quigley is queen of the rough and tumble thriller. With her strong heroines and gritty plots, she draws us into a shadowy world where only the strong survive..".

Crime Fiction alphabet series at Petrona.

Mysteries in Paradise, home of the crime fiction alphabet. Visit this link if you would like to participate.

 

11 thoughts on “Alphabet in crime fiction: Quigley

  1. Run for Home is the only one of Sheila’s that I haven’t read. The others are rough round the edges, but I like them — they feel gritty and realistic and she’s writing about real people! I tend to think that the police procedural angle is the least interesting thing about the books.

  2. I admit Q was a bit of a Quagmire, but I think people have been very resourceful. For X I think I will have to throw in the towel, however (but I could probably come up with Æ, Ø and Å).

  3. Maxine – I haven’t read any Quigley, I confess. The plots sound interesting, though, and since I trust you implicitly, if you trust Sharon’s judgment, I will, too, and see if I can find some Quigley, myself.

  4. I have read Every Breath You Take. I remember buying it because of the song (yes yes I was a huge Police fan in my youth) but I don’t remember anything about the book at all.
    I too had trouble with Q and frankly I am planning to go into witness protection to avoid having to admit defeat with the letter X🙂

  5. Bernadette, if you need to go into witness protection you chose the right Q word!
    We need quick publication of X-Ray Murders by Xarlene Xbot. (If anyone is allowing themselves first names, there is actually The First Fingerprint by Xavier Marie-Bonnot. Now that Criag has pinched my planned X author for his Q😉, I might be reduced to that.)

  6. This sounds yet another interesting author Maxine – I’d like to land a big publishing deal like that.
    Norman said smugly a while back that he had something lined up for X – I can’t help wondering if he played his trump card with Q.
    There are quite a lot of crime fiction titles with Xanadu in the title somewhere – single word X titles appear to be as scarce as hen’s teeth.

  7. Indeed Kerrie – but somehow I have my money on Bernadette even so! Norman and Craig may well have shot themselves as well as me in the feet, X-wise, by their choice of Q but maybe we are all cleverer than we think we are?

  8. I am fairly smug because I have a non-fiction crime book lined up for X.
    But Kerrie can wipe that smirk off my face by stating that it has got to be fiction. Of course I do have, even more smugly he says, The First Fingerprint on my TBR pile as a back up, which from the blurb and the author’s background seems a bit Vargas-like.
    All four children are facing stressful times at the moment so I am quite glad for these little challenges to keep my mind off the problems.

  9. Hmm, well Norman as noted above The First Fingerprint is on my shelf, as yet unread, too! But I am supposedly doing last names only. Oh well.
    Yes, know what you mean about taking one’s mind off the stresses of life – I also like patience (nowadays called solitaire) and killer sudokus for this reason…and reading of course. I’m loving The Woman from Bratislava at the moment (Lief Davidsen).

Comments are closed.