Reading books eligible for the CWA International Dagger 2010

Karen at Euro Crime has provided a list of all the novels eligible for the CWA International Dagger award 2010. Of the 60 titles she identifies, I have read nine (links go to my reviews):

Denmark: Mikkel Birkegaard – The Library of Shadows (review in press)
Italy: Andrea Camilleri – August Heat
Norway: Karin Fossum – The Water's Edge
Germany: Petra Hammesfahr – The Lie
Iceland: Arnaldur Indridason – Hypothermia
Sweden: Stieg Larsson – The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets' Nest
Germany: Andrea Maria Schenkel – Ice Cold
Norway: Gunnar Staalesen – The Consorts of Death
Sweden: Johan Theorin – The Darkest Room

Who would I pick as the winner on the basis of these nine titles? Well, that's a very tough one; so far as I am concerned there are six of these nine that I'd be happy to see win! I believe that the real shortlist will be announced at Crime Fest next year (May 2010), so I need to decide which of the remaning 51 I can realistically read by then. Unfortunately most of these books will be available only in hardback I assume, if they are only published this year, so it won't be cheap to wade through the list. All other things being equal, these are the titles that most appeal to me, on the basis of having enjoyed other books by their authors (or in the case of Benacquista, because he is a featured author at Crime Fest next year so I'm curious to read one of his books).

Tonino Benacquista – Badfellas (France)
Leif Davidsen – The Woman from Bratislava (Denmark)
Anne Holt – Death in Oslo (Norway)
Tove Jansson – The True Deceiver (Norway)
Camilla Lackberg – The Stone Cutter (Sweden)
Henning Mankell The Man from Beijing (Sweden)
Deon Meyer – Thirteen Hours (South Africa)
Jo Nesbo – The Snowman (Norway)

Has anyone read other books on Karen's list of eligible titles, and if so, can you recommend any? I recognise that my selection has a Scandinavian bias so I would particularly appreciate recommendations of books by authors from elsewhere. (I definitely want to read K O Dahl (Norway), but to date I have been waiting for them to be available in series order in translation.)

Thanks again to Karen for this great list, which certainly provides plenty of potential reading material for the coming months.

8 thoughts on “Reading books eligible for the CWA International Dagger 2010

  1. What a fantastic selection of books! I am a long way behind you with only four read but I have several of your appealed to list on my wanted list.
    My additions to your list would be Poisonville by Massimo Carlotto and Marco Videta, and Affairs of State by Dominique Manotti. You cannot ignore a French writer when it comes to the International Dagger.
    As far as a potential winner is concerned,among those I have read Johan Theorin and Stieg Larsson stand out, and among those I haven’t Indridason, Fossum and Nesbo must be contenders simply because of the quality of all their work.

  2. Of course some of these titles–have not yet
    been published. I have now read 12, and am starting
    the new Anne Holt. The Tove Jansson -The True Deceiver
    -is not in my view a crime novel–but a marvellous
    work of literature.
    I rate Eugenio Fuentes extremely highly–he is a writer of the highest class.All four of his translated novels
    feature a private detective–who solves his cases-by
    looking into character rather than events.He deserves
    a wide readership.

  3. Thank you, Simon and Norman. Funnily enough, a little bird has recently tweeted that a review copy of a book by Fuentes might be available so I shall definitely try that in view of your recommendation, Simon.
    Norman – funny point about not ignoring the French in view of the most recent winners! I did enjoy the only Manotti I have read (her first novel) but I found it very noir for my usual tastes. In view of previous posts by you I am definitely interested in Carlotto so may go for this one unless it is nth in a series.
    Thanks again for your kind comments.

  4. I recommend The Stonecutter (3 words only because of Harper’s cover design) by Camilla Läckberg, definitely her best so far). Too bad it’s not out yet — try to get hold of a review copy.
    I read about a third of Henning Mankell’s China book but didn’t think it as good as earlier ones. It’ll sell big anyhow, I’m sure.
    But don’t forget the French for this historically French prize…

  5. I have read three on your list. Nesnø is my favourite, Anne Holt comes second and Läckberg third.
    I have reviewed Holt and Läckberg. I liked the main plot in Läckberg´s very much, but there is an old story which was less convincing in my opinion.

  6. Thanks, Steve. Very droll about the historically French prize;-)
    Thanks for your recommendations, Dorte. None of those three has been published in English yet, but I am looking forward to them all.

Comments are closed.