My Euro Crime reviews for October

The start of a new month prompts me to look at the books I reviewed at Euro Crime during October. (See here for September's batch.)

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest, by Stieg Larsson and translated by Reg Keeland, was of course the big title of the month. I wrote: "The Millennium Trilogy is a fantastically exciting and original set of books, admittedly with flaws, but with a great breadth and intelligence – of the characters as well as of the story – and with an ability to draw the reader in to an exciting narrative so that one is lost in the book, not knowing whether to turn the pages rapidly to find out what happens next, or to turn them slowly to prolong the totally mesmerising read". More here.

The Lie, by Petra Hammesfahr and translated by Mike Mitchell. From my review: "Somewhere in all this there is a good little psychological thriller struggling to get out, but unfortunately, for me it never does …. Suzanne is the only character with life or depth, and the aspects of the plot concerning her non-Nadia life are the most interesting." This author wrote the superb The Sinner (translator, John Brownjohn), which I'd recommend much more highly, though it is very dark.

Good Night, My Darling, by Inger Frimansson and translated by Laura A. Wideburg. A haunting novel whose author "has a wonderful ability to draw the reader right in to her subjects' lives and preoccupations." I very much enjoyed reading this book that digs under the surface of small-town life and the veneer of people's public images.

Hypothermia, by Arnaldur Indridason and translated by Victoria Cribb. I wrote: "among the very best of the books I've read this year. It's the sixth of the author's Erlendur series to be translated into English; it is truly a mature, masterful and utterly fantastic book."  I described it as "brilliantly depressive" on Twitter, where every word has to count. It could certainly be read and enjoyed without having read the author's earlier books, but you'd be missing out on a real treat if you miss those!

I have an archive of all my reviews over at Vox, a blog platform that seems to be having a few technical troubles at the moment. I hope these are resolved soon, and that Six Apart (owners of Typepad) don't give up on it, as I'd hate to have to shift all those book reviews!

Another bit of housekeeping news: you can access lists of links to my reviews by year by going to the top of this blog. Finally, I've also sorted my reviews by country: if you scroll down the right-hand side of the blog, you'll see a list of countries. Clicking on any one should take you to all my reviews of books by authors from those countries.

6 thoughts on “My Euro Crime reviews for October

  1. Perhaps I should read “Arctic Chill” soon to give me an excuse to order “Hypothermia”? I try to be a bit up-to-date when it comes to Nordic crime, but with Indridason I have had to wait for the translations like everybody else. It is much easier with Swedish paperbacks, they are as cheap as the English ones.
    I hope your cold is better so you can enjoy Sunday at least!

  2. Thanks, Dorte. I’m still a bit under the weather, so it is a good opportunity to catch up on some review archiving. Unfortunately translated fiction can be quite expensive in England, but I was lucky enough to have an advance review copy of Hypothermia (which I’ve now passed on to another reader).

  3. Your blogs with all those superb reviews are a wonderful resource Maxine, especially for those of us who watch too much television.

  4. Maxine – Norman’s quite right. Your blog serves as a fabulous resource, and your reviews are thorough and detailed. I learn every time I read one.

  5. Thanks for another great review, Maxine. More details than I even remember, but I’m having fun rereading them after 3 years. I’ve been out of blogland for a while, working on another Camilla Läckberg you may like (no title yet). The last one, The Stonecutter (#3), was my favorite so far. Keep it up, you’re reading more Scando crime than I have time for! Steve/Reg

Comments are closed.