The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest has arrived!

image from www3.waterstones.com

Q: When is it that when a 602-page book arrives in your post, you not only can't wait to start reading it, but wish it were longer?

A: When it is The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest, the third part of Stieg Larsson's Millennium Trilogy, published by the MacLehose Press (an imprint of Quercus), and translated from the Swedish by Reg Keeland. What's it about?

…women who were common soldiers, who bore arms, belonged to regiments, and played their part in battle on the same terms as men. Hardly a war has been waged without women soldiers in the ranks.
It is estimated that some six hundred women served during the American Civil War. They had signed up disguised as men. Hollywood has missed a significant chapter of cultural history here – or is this history ideologically difficult to deal with? Historians have often struggled to deal with women who do not respect gender distinctions, and nowhere is that distinction more sharply drawn than in the question of armed combat.

After reading the first 43 pages, I am pretty sure that Lisbeth Salander is going to buck this trend, simply by taking no notice of it.

The author of The Millennium Trilogy, Stieg Larsson, was Editor in Chief of the anti-racist magazine Expo. He died suddenly in November 2004, at the age of 50, soon after delivering the text of the three novels to his publisher. The first of these, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, won ITV's International Author of the Year Award 2008; the Galaxy British Book Award for crime thriller of the year 2009; Waterstone's book of the year 2009; and the Crimefest Sounds of Crime Award 2009 (audio version). The second novel, The Girl Who Played with Fire, received superb reviews upon its UK and (very recent) US publication.

Reg Keeland has translated all three novels; he is also the distinguished translator of other novels including those by favourites of mine Helene Tursten, Karin Alvtegen, Henning Mankell, Leif Davidsen and Camilla Lackberg, some of these in collaboration with Tiina Nunnally, also a very distinguished translator. (See here for more about Reg's work.)

I shall be aiming to read this book and have my review delivered by its official publication date of 1 October. If you don't hear from me between now and then, you will know why.

Petrona posts about Stieg Larsson

Crime Fiction journeys posts about Stieg Larsson, including many more reviews of the first two books.

Publisher website for the Millennium Trilogy.

5 thoughts on “The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest has arrived!

  1. I also found my copy on the shelf today and plan to re-read it so I can review it around 1 OctoberšŸ˜€
    I have Louise Penny, Still Life to get through first, though. And I really think you wrote something about this series being too cozy for you on KerrieĀ“s blog only to realize Louise Penny must have seen your comment. It must be perfectable acceptable to prefer some subgenres to others, though, just like I donĀ“t often like noir or hardboiled. Cozies are not my favourites, either, but when I have read one or two bleak novels, I like some change.

  2. Bloody hell. These things come round so quickly. I still haven’t read the second one, which I bought in hardcover! I must dig it out of the TBR, dust it off and read it. I notice the third one is Amazon’s deal of the week this week. Hmmm… do I, or don’t I?

  3. Yes, Kim, yes! But then I am a bit erratically nutty about some books – and sorry you were not that keen on Arctic Chill. BTW I loved Hypothermia (his next – good follow-up title to Arctic Chill!) even bleaker than AC….so maybe not for you? But I adored it. Must get my review written, come to think of it.

  4. I almost bought Hypothermia the other day, but then decided to leave it until the small-size paperback comes out.
    Re: Arctic Chill, it wasn’t the bleak subject matter that put me off, it was the rehashing of Erlunder’s back story that began to wear a little thin for me. I know he has to write it so that new readers will understand the main character’s troubled background, but for those of us that have followed the series from book one I didn’t think it was necessary.

Comments are closed.