Just a few books you (or I) might like to read

I'm afraid I am still somewhat devoid of inspiration for blog posts, so just to note for those who don't read Friend Feed that Rob Kitchin has written an excellent review of John Lawton's Black Out, which renews my determination to read this well-regarded novel. (Prof Kitchin, by the way, has some distressing characteristics in common with yours truly.)

National Public Radio has an admirable "list" post. So often these reading recommendations are utterly tedious or obvious, but this collection of recommended reading, Mysteries you might have missed along the way, reads as if it were put together by someone who actually reads and enjoys mystery novels. It is well worth a look, a mix of old and new. One of the recommendations is The Caveman's Valentine, which I read some years ago when it was still called The Caveman, which I highly recommend. Quite a different novel. I haven't read Jane Haddam but I am tempted to, reading the NPR post.

My latest discovery is Gunnar Staalesen, thanks to this post by Glenn at International Noir Fiction. These novels are listed in the excellent Euro Crime database so those that are translated and cost less than £100 are on their way to me as I write.

The next book I intend to read, by the way, is Close up by Esther Veerhoef, partly because the publisher kindly sent me a copy a while back, and partly because of this review at It's a Crime. If the killer sudoku in the Times had not been so tough today, I would have started this book already on my journey home, but the puzzle is a real devil. Am I losing my touch? It is a long while since a killer sodoku has beaten me, but today's is perhaps it.

5 thoughts on “Just a few books you (or I) might like to read

  1. Is this distressing characteristic you have in common buying too many books or collecting all the Viggo Mortensen DVDs you can find ?
    The book buying virus seems to be a pandemic!

  2. Glad the reviews are useful, Maxine. I think Bernadette has it right on her post today. It’s not so much a virus as an addiction. If I have less than five books on the to read pile I get quite stressed – what happens if it gets to zero? I might actually have to read the books I’ve abandoned in the past. There’s nothing worse than a bad pint … My name is Rob and I am an addict.
    see http://reactionstoreading.wordpress.com/2009/08/20/intervention-awards-and-redesign/

  3. LOL Maxine I have been having trouble with sudoku over the past week or so. I put it down to my brain being in holiday mode.

  4. Maxine, I´m off to work but just have time to warn you against killer – or other sudoku! Monday at dawn I woke up with a left thumb that hurt terribly. I had to take pain killers to get back to sleep. Later I remembered that I had been solving sudokus all Sunday long so I had kept the little book in a tight grip between my left thumb and index finger for too long.
    Fine post, but now I´ll have to rush off.

  5. Yes, agreed, an addiction – and I should have linked to Bernadette’s excellent post in my post, so thanks for providing it, Rob, and apologies to Bernadette for omitting it. (My confession was already in Bernadette’s “comments”!)
    I manage to limit myself to two sudokus a day, Dorte and Bernadette – one killer and one fiendish – as that’s what they print in the paper (as well as a crossword, a “polygon” (anagram puzzle) and a codeword (match numbers to letters to form a crossword). It passes the time on my commute of hell. Last summer I admit to taking a couple of sudoku compliation books on holiday and suffering from “retained retinal syndrome” (!), but this year I stuck to books to read. I’ve been a sudoku addict since the first one the Times printed, back in 2005, so there is probably little hope for me.

Comments are closed.