Harrogate crime writing festival about to open its doors

Tomorrow (Thursday 23 July) is the start of the Harrogate Crime Writing Festival, in which "for one long weekend in July, the world of crime writing will descend again on this sleepy Yorkshire town"Tickets to most events are still available – or if you can't make it in person, you can follow CrimeFictionReader on Twitter (more here) for an "almost there" sense of excitement.  Ali Karim and Mike Stotter, Editor of Shotsmag, will also no doubt be providing lots of online reporting, mirth, excitement and ebullience.

The winner of the 2009 Condense-a-Crime Classic Competition, judged by Laura Wilson, has been announced. Many congratulations to Janet O'Kane for her Twitter-sized summary of Agatha Christie's The Murder of Roger Ackroyd.  
 
"Two of my patients having died in quick succession – the widow (driven to suicide), the squire (stabbed in the neck) – I was delighted when Hercule Poirot sought my counsel. While the police wasted time on the butler, the drug addict and the impoverished stepson, Poirot uncovered everyone's secrets. Even mine."
 
I'm sorry I won't be there this year – but for the programme and additional evidence of all the excitement I'm sad to be missing, see the festival's website.

One thought on “Harrogate crime writing festival about to open its doors

  1. Thanks for the links, Maxine.
    I could say I will be quiet at Harrogate but that would be a misrepresentation, as anyone who has played on the same quiz team as me well knows. (Although I was calmer last year. I think it was the influence of the company…) Anyway, I won’t be blogging or tweeting.
    I suspect Mike Stotter is not going this year. (Why else would I have had an invite to go on Ali’s team? And could it be the winning team this year? It’s certainly well-stocked.)
    Have a good holiday, Maxine, you and your family.

Comments are closed.