Tweetfic for CrimeTwitterers

Twitter is currently very hard to avoid if you go anywhere on the internet (even though the sums have been done several times and only 40 per cent of users return for a second visit). A post at The Guardian describes a new craze, Tweetfic, which mashes up Twitter with novel plots. (Not to be confused with Debra Hamel's longstanding Twitterlit.)  Some examples of Tweetfic:

Woman meets man called Darcy who seems horrible. He turns out to be nice really. They get together.

Orphan given £££ by secret follower. He thinks it's @misshavisham but it turns out to be @magwitch

Vladimir and Estragon stand next to tree and wait for Godot. Their status is not updated.

Man walks around Dublin. We follow every minute detail of his day. He's probably overtweeting.

Inevitably, upon reading this and with yesterday's discovery of an @crimefiction "person" at Twitter (who has nothing to do with NextReads, my assumption about that was due to my almost complete confusion concerning Twitter – however, I think I now have an inklingette about who he/she/it might be), made me wonder if we could do the same for crime fiction. How to summarise a book in 140 characters (max) without a spoiler? I'll have a go but I challenge readers to come up with three CrimeTwitters – and let us guess the book.

My attempts:

Interest in entomology reveals to hidden half of duo cause of ancient family curse. Misty environs.

Reluctant detective prefers jokes and booze. Keeps girl and dog anyway but acquires legendary mismoniker.

A dozen moving suspects in private Jury group. Case closed.

I am sure that you can do better than this (and easily guess the novels I've summarised). Just as well I don't write them for real.

8 thoughts on “Tweetfic for CrimeTwitterers

  1. Heh. I really like this idea – its a good brain-testing exercise.
    I also like the word ‘inklingette’ – a kind of etymological idea homeopathy.

  2. How about this one?
    Murders spanning 30 years with main suspects in feuding family clans at Swedish seaside resort in hot summer.
    And I even had some characters left over…
    Good “game”, Maxine!

  3. ha ha! I guessed yours too, CFR. As I am just about to go away for a few days I am going to write another post about this….and see what happens on Sunday (or thereabouts).

  4. OK, the first one is easy. Arthur Conan Doyle, Hound of the Baskervilles. (The entomology threw me for a moment, but then I remembered the insect museum.)
    Booze, jokes, girl, dog, mismoniker – if my guess is correct, this is one case where I prefer the film(s) to the book…Hammett, The Thin Man? Except that Nick and Nora were already married. Hmmm.
    As for the third one, if I’m right it’s another case of being rather fond of the film (with Albert Finney), though the book is deservedly a classic. Agatha Christie, Murder on the Orient Express.
    Just the thing to keep the brain ticking over!

  5. Well done, Lauren. Yes, Nick and Nora are already married so I wrote “keeps” rather than “gets” girl – the marriage was rather freewheeling after all! But congratulations for an excellent hat -trick. Drop me an email with your mailing address and your prize will be on its way.

  6. Thanks! Will send the e-mail asap.
    (And I suspect my ability to guess these quickly was enhanced by the fact that most of the competition was at Crimefest!)

Comments are closed.