Mystery Reader Cafe via Euro Crime

Via Karen of Euro Crime, I learn that the Yahoo group Mystery Reader Cafe is running the following challenge for 2009:

1. Read a mystery with the word "murder" in the title
2. Read a mystery set in your region
3. Read a mystery that has been on your shelf for at least a year
4. Read a mystery from a "new to you" author

Please remember that each challenge above should be a different book.

Karen has answered the questions for 2008, so I'll do the same for my last year's reading:

1. The Final Murder by Anne Holt – an intriguing novel in which the book itself might be the solution to the mystery. (I also read Karen's choice, An Expert in Murder by Nicola Upson, which features pseudonymous novelist Josephine Tey as a 1920s detective; and Murder at the Savoy, one of the superb, classic Martin Beck series by Maj Sjowall and Per Wahloo.)

2. Working in London makes this one a bit too easy. However, I didn't read a book in 2008 set in Kingston upon Thames, where I live, I have to admit. The closest I got was Die With Me by Elena Forbes, set in Barnes which is a couple of stops away on the local train, and on the other side of Richmond Park (I live 5 mins walk from Kingston gate, and Barnes police station is pretty close to Roehampton gate.) This year I might cheat and re-read that Sherlock Holmes story which is partly set in Kingston (if anyone can remember the title, please let me know in the comments!).

3. Not difficult! I think the book I read in 2008 that had been on my shelf for the longest was The Dark Eye by Ingrid Black. I have also been saving up and savouring Andrea Camilleri's books as well as the Sjowall/Wahloo series, but I have plenty to choose from for 2009 that have been waiting for considerably longer than a year.

4. Again, not difficult, largely thanks to the generosity of Karen both in suggesting authors and in providing copies of books to read, but also via reading reviews, blogs and so on. I'll pick two from 2008 that I particularly enjoyed: The Serbian Dane by Leif Davidsen, and Bad Traffic by Simon Lewis. Stieg Larsson, Paulus Hochgatterer, Diane Setterfield, Helene Tursten and Frode Grytten are just a few of the other new (to me) authors I tried this year, and whose books I enjoyed a lot. (A full list of the books I reviewed in 2008 is here.)

To be continued during 2009. You are welcome to join in.

4 thoughts on “Mystery Reader Cafe via Euro Crime

  1. Maxine, I read Forbes’ Die with Me just a short while ago. It got off to a bit of a rocky start with me, but it was the location that kept me going — the initial murder takes place in Ealing; the police, as you say, are stationed in Barnes, and I was born in Isleworth. Anyway, I think the Holmes’ tale you are after is the Adventure of the Illustrious Client.

  2. Thank you, Philip – I should have known you would fly to my rescue over the Sherlock Holmes story – that saves me from searching through them all, as that would have been a major distration. Interesting that you were born in Iselworth – we used to take the children there when they were young – to “butterfly world”, “snakes and ladders” and, if we parents were lucky, Syon Park.

  3. I had a look at my unread shelves last night in the light of your comment, Norman, and see that I don’t have one on there with “murder” in the title either. Oh dear! I’ll have to obtain one, I suppose.

Comments are closed.