The mess we’re in, and some poetry

If you don't keep up with the Internet for a couple of days (RSS reader, home email account, blogs, FriendFeed, Twitter etc), your home life soon starts to become like your work life, constantly chasing to keep up. After opting out for 48 hours or so, it seems from my several thousand unread items that the majority is posting about the financial crisis or about end-of year-related material. I'll just post a few on-topic-recession items that caught my interest from the many I glazed over:

The Times Comment Central blog rounds up the worst predictions of 2008 – the one in the post being the in-retrospect trivial one that Hillary Clinton would gain the Democratic nomination. Doubtless in the links there are plenty who confidently failed to counter-predict the mess we are all now in (an increasing number of hard workers and careful savers being penalised by the greedy, irresponsible and self-interested actions of the financial "industry" and associated hangers-on).

Before I get carried away on that score, can science solve the economic crisis?, asks the Edge, via BackReaction (with added commentary).

Frank Wilson draws attention to an interesting way to make a bit of money if you are feeling the pinch – predict how well people will perform on the basis of how they perform.

I've got quite fond of Robert Peston's blog now: although the one-sentence paragraphs and (BBC house style I am told) patronising phrasing put me off I suppose that isn't the author's fault. Lots of good if grim posts there, anyway, but of special interest is his article (downloadable as a PDF from this link) about "how we got into this mess and what the re-made economy will look like".

OK, that's enough financial crisis, ed. How about a bit of getting poetical?