The Likeness by Tana French, and other reviews

My review of The Likeness by Tana French is up at Euro Crime. From the review:

The protagonist, Cassie Maddox, is a detective working in the domestic violence department of the Dublin police force. She was part of the investigating team in Tana French's previous novel, IN THE WOODS, a story that ended in an emotional mess – a fact of which we are frequently but obliquely reminded in the new book, which is a bit frustrating if, like me, you have read the earlier book but can't recall the exact details of how it turned out. In between the two novels, Cassie has left the murder squad and worked undercover for a while, but after being attacked with a knife by one of her targets, she next transferred to the boring (to her) world of domestic violence, which is where she is working, somewhat depressed and at a loose end, at the opening of THE LIKENESS.

Cassie's undercover life comes back to haunt her in an unusual way when her boyfriend Sam (still on the murder squad) and her old 'undercover' boss Frank, a Machiavellian-like but charming figure, contact her to tell her that a dead body has been found in a dilapidated cottage in a field in the countryside- the body is that of a girl who is identical to Cassie and who is calling herself Lexie Madison, one of Cassie's previous fabricated undercover identities. Read on here.

I'm not sure if I will read any more of Tana French's books; it depends on how long they are.

Other Euro Crime reviews this week are Paying for It by Tony Black, Paul Blackburn's debut; Terry Halligan on The Art of Remonstration by Alan Miles; and Michelle Peckham on The Last Cato by Matilde Asensi – a quest for an Earthly paradise.

2 thoughts on “The Likeness by Tana French, and other reviews

  1. Good review! I just read it, liked it very much but then I was stuck in Miami airport on a five-hour layover and long made me feel I was getting value for money! I went and read the first one afterwards, and I wonder whether they do not actually work better in that order – I certainly, like you, would have been likely to be vague on details from earlier book if I had read it a year or two ago!
    (Also, belated thanks for interesting primate links – my e-mail inbox got the better of me!)

  2. Lovely to hear from you Jenny! Thanks for the kind words about the review, very much appreciated coming from you. Yes, if I’d been stuck in an airport for the duration I probably would have enjoyed it more.

Comments are closed.