Not the passion-quilt meme

"I don’t usually respond to “memes” which are little games, a set of questions usually, meant to encourage links among blogs and get people acquainted with each other." So writes Prairie Mary, who continues: "The kind of blogging that I do, which is essentially publishing 1,000 word essays, doesn’t really lend itself and I’m a lousy linker, as several complainants have pointed out."
How dare they? Mary writes wonderful essays: clearly argued, on a range of topics that interest her and hence her readers. I like her chains of logic and thoughts about print-on-demand and more "conventional" publishing, but almost more I love her posts about matters in which I had little or no knowledge before I began blogging — the Blackfeet and the personal history of Mary's family, to name but two. Get thee off to the dark regions, complainers! Go and fester in your soundbite-equivalents.
Returning to Mary's meme, it is called "passion quilt", and was sent it [or "tagged" to put it in the vernacular] by Chas Clifton of Letter from Hardscrabble Creek blog. Here it is:

  • Post a picture or make/take/create your own that captures what YOU are most passionate for students to learn about.
  • Give your picture a short title.
  • Title your blog post "Meme: Passion Quilt."
  • Link back to this blog entry.
  • Include links to 5 (or more) educators.

I'm not going to do the meme because I'm not an educator or very clever about pictures. Please feel free to do it yourself if you like Whether or not you do, you might like to see and read Mary's essay (naturally) in response. Thank you, Mary.