Shameless self-promotion

Just before I went on holiday, John Baker posted my answers to his "five questions" series.

A while back, John sent me the questions and I answered them. After a time I saw that he’d started publishing bloggers’ answers. I had not appreciated the scale of his endeavour. Of course the responses, as they were published, all seemed very witty and erudite, so I inwardly cringed at what I’d written.

So long elapsed between me answering the questions and him posting them that I assumed I’ d been rejected. (Don’t forget I work for a journal with a 95 per cent rejection rate, so it is in my blood, not merely personal insecurity.) I was quite relieved.

Some time later I received a message from Debra, who had read my answers, my heart sank. My response had been published. I’d completely forgotten what I’d replied, but vaguely remembered it was very silly. (That question about what makes me laugh really threw me.)

Anyway, it didn’t look too bad. And although it is ages ago now, do take a look. And if you like it, read the others in the series, many of them are very interesting, and have introduced me to previously unknown blogs.

John Baker’s blog (Petrona section).

5 thoughts on “Shameless self-promotion

  1. Hey Maxine, your answers were not anything but worth reading and I enjoyed and appreciated reading them at the time.
    Good to see you posting on your return from your hol – your absence has been missed!

  2. Maxine, How could you think I’d rejected you?
    The answers to the ‘five questions’ I posed were published in the order that I received them. In fact, I’m still posting them.
    It was great to see Look Homeward, Angel and Lord of the Flies among your favourites.

  3. Just angst, John! I do like the series, I’ve posted about it again subsequently a couple of times (not self-promotingly, though, I hasten to add). It has really caught on. Glad you approve of LOTF (one of my favourite headlines is when we wrote a news story about the then-new Google Scholar, and entitled it “Lord of the Files”). Cathy is reading it for GCSE. She didn’t think much of it when she read it on her own over the summer, but now they are reading it in class she is enthralled by all the portents and allegories that she’s disccovering.

Comments are closed.