Polygon puzzle, 6 June

Polygon puzzle

Using the given letters no more than once, make as many words as possible of four or more letters, always including the central letter. Capitalised words, plurals, conjugated verbs (past tense etc), adverbs ending in LY, comparatives and superlatives are disallowed.
You can make one word using all the letters.
How you rate: 13 words, average; 17, good; 21, very good; 26, excellent.
Answers in the comments.
Source, The Times.

Favourite beach read

Bookglutton has posted about Ottakar’s survey to find Britain’s favourite beach read. (You can win a camera so it could well be worth participating — I don’t suppose they have any way of knowing whether you are British or not when you vote.)

Here is a direct link to the voting form on Ottakar’s website.

Here are the choices:

The Beach by Alex Garland ; Captain Corelli’s Mandolin by Louis de Bernières ; The Hunt for Red October by Tom Clancy ; Kane and Abel by Jeffrey Archer ; The Thorn Birds by Collen McCullough; Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding ; The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown ;Jaws by Peter Benchley ; Riders by Jilly Cooper ;Valley of the Dolls by Jacqueline Susann

I don’t think I will be voting because, like Bookglutton, I have read some of these books and don’t want to read them again, or I don’t want to read them at all. It is an odd list, in that all these books are old, none recently published. If someone put a gun to my head I would vote for The Thorn Birds as a pacy yet undemanding read, though it is probably more than 30 years since I read it. When I do go on holiday, I simply take a selection (invariably over-ambitious) from the pile of 100 in my cupboard. Although I am reminded of one time when I went to Spain and did not take enough books! Can you imagine that? Someone had left a few books in the place where we stayed, so I read those, then I found a bookshop selling some books in English. And that, dear reader, is how I came to read the Da Vinci Code! (You think that is bad? Jenny had to read some Mary-Kate and Ashleys.)

English assignment completed

Cathy has finished her English assignment, which was to tell a well-known myth, legend, parable or other story from the point of view of a minor character. Everyone made great suggestions, but some were sadly ruled out because the viewpoint had to be from a living thing (I found out later). Another aspect that I didn’t realise when I posted about this project is that the writer has to tell the story in such a way that the reader does not guess it until the latest possible moment.

Cathy has posted her completed essay on her blog Oasis. She has asked me to thank everyone for the suggestions and tips, and would like you to read the completed essay. Please go and visit Oasis, and let her know in the comments (if Blogger will let you) if and when you guessed.

Thank you, everyone, for the interest in this project. The earlier Petrona posting about it is here. I suggest you don’t read that though, before you read the completed assignment on Oasis.