Book review: Revenge of the Tide by Elizabeth Haynes

Revenge of the Tide
by Elizabeth Haynes
Myriad Editions, 2012

As this enticingly titled book begins, Genevieve is preparing to hold a “boatwarming” party on her barge, which she is renovating. She’s invited two sets of guests, her old friends and colleagues from London where she used to live, and her new neighbours whose boats are moored in the same marina near Rochester in the south-east of England. The celebration is a mixed success, as the two groups of people have less in common than they all thought at first. Genevieve is disappointed because Caddy, her best friend from London, has failed to turn up.

That same night, Genevieve hears a thumping sound on the side of the barge. Upon investigating, she realises there is a body in the water. A body whose face looks remarkably like Caddy’s, though she only has a brief glimpse by torchlight.

The rest of the book tells parallel stories: Genevieve’s old life in London leading up to her decision to buy her boat; and the police investigation of the presumed crime. Although I found the main part of the novel very readable, I did not really take to it, mainly because I had little patience with Genevieve. When in London she holds down two of my least favourite jobs, handling both of them in a rather devious fashion. In the sections where she’s living on the boat, she seems torn between longing for an old friend who has asked a probably illegal favour of her, and her attraction to one of the police officers, in-between occasional bouts of sanding and painting.

The book ends up being more of a thriller than a crime novel with a good plot twist or a “whodunnit?” element. I found the final sections on the barge, intended to be suspenseful and scary, unrealistic to the point of silliness. As I found Genevieve an unappealing person, I was uninterested in the build-up as to which of two men she would eventually choose for a serious relationship. Perhaps this lack of interest was also partly due to the fact that the two men are only seen by the reader through Genevieve’s eyes and don’t have independent lives of their own, and hence are rather cardboard. The same applies to the police investigation: all we know of it, which is very little, is via Genevieve.

As I had very much enjoyed the author’s previous novel, Into The Darkest Corner (which deservedly was Amazon UK’s best book of 2011), I found Revenge of the Tide a sad disappointment, showing very little of the potential of the earlier book. Nevertheless, it is quick and easy to read; people who like romantic thrillers with a touch of raunchiness will probably like it very much.

I purchased my copy of this book.

Other reviews of Revenge of the Tide: Pamreader (who says the book will give your brain a workout!), Novelicious and Crime Fiction Lover. All these reviews are a lot more positive than mine.

About the book, and more, at the author’s website.

8 thoughts on “Book review: Revenge of the Tide by Elizabeth Haynes

  1. Maxine – I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed in this one. The premise sounded so positive, too… But you’ve highlighted some plot devices I’m always wary of i.e. main character chooses between two men; unrealistic suspense-building, etc.. So I’ll probably wait on this one…

  2. Well, you have tempted me to try her first one, but as the two! Kindle editions cost $ 13 and $ 17, I think I´ll put it on my ´paperback wish list´ :)

    • Not sure, Bill. The books aren’t a series but “standalones” so perhaps I’ll wait and see what the topic of the next one is. It just goes to show, one should not necessarily read someone’s second book after enjoying their first.

  3. Interesting review. This writer is on my radar but some of the reviews I’ve read have been mixed. No rush to try this one I think but perhaps I should give her first book a go.

  4. Pingback: Revenge of the Tide by Elizabeth Haynes | Petrona Book Reviews archive

  5. Pingback: April reading report | Petrona

Comments are closed.