Happy new year


The picture above is of a proper, six-sided snowflake, whose symmetry was noticed 400 years ago by Kepler. Phil Ball explains the history.

Today is the start of a new year. I hope that all readers of Petrona found much to enjoy in 2011, and will have a happy, prosperous and healthy 2012.

In planning your 2012 reading, you might like to glance at:

25 favourites of books I’ve reviewed in 2011 (no special order).
All my book reviews from 2011, helpfully ranked with a 1-5 star system.
My posts about Norwegian crime fiction and Swedish crime fiction. These were my two most-viewed posts from 2011, the Norwegian one being the most popular.

18 thoughts on “Happy new year

  1. Happy New Year to you too…some of that snow would be nice as it got to 42 degrees here today and is not expected to go below 30 overnight. Nothing to do but escape into a book

    • Not quite that warm here Bernadette (thankfully) but no snow either – I have been watching the green parrots flying about this morning, we usually don’t see them till April/May (when they fly down the street stripping the pink blossom from the trees the instant it appears).

  2. Happy New Year to you, too, Maxine.
    And thanks for the great blog reviews. I’ve read five of your top 25 2011 reads and put them in my top reads of last year, too.
    And thanks for posting the links to the Norwegian and Swedish crime fiction posts so I can note down the titles.

  3. Thank you all for your comments (now and for the past year, and I hope the next!). Happy new year to everyone.

  4. And, an addendum to thank you for the wonder Mystery Friend Feed. I read it twice a day and always enjoy it and the comments — and it gives me book ideas. However, the discussion is so interesting.

    • Thank you, Kathy! I do so appreciate all your support and enthusiasm for this blog and the crime-fiction discussion. Your thoughts on the books are always so interesting (have you thought of starting your own blog?!).

  5. Happy New Year, Maxine. Just went through all of your year end lists, thanks very much. As a consequence, I’ve re-prioritized my 2012 reading, at least for the first few months. Thanks for your blog, it’s the one I go to first. Ken

  6. Hi Maxine. Thank you for your suggestion on a blog. I so much enjoy the blogs I frequent regularly and FF that I feel quite satisfied and content on a daily basis. I comment, laugh and jot down book ideas. I don’t feel the need to do it nor could I find the time.
    I do not know how any of you do this with jobs, blogging, families — and, of course, reading.
    It’s an amazing feat to juggle so many tasks. .

Comments are closed.