Dilbert slows down on blogging (not?)

The Dilbert Blog: Going Forward describes Scott Adams’s decision to reduce his blogging frequency, for understandable economic reasons.

…."the blog has been a source of tremendous artistic satisfaction. I enjoyed being relatively uncensored, and interacting with the readers on fun topics. That’s why I will continue blogging, albeit less controversially. I’ll just do it less often, especially over the holidays. It’s hard to tell the family I can’t spend time with them because I need to create free content on the Internet that will lower our income."

Although I almost always enjoy reading the posts on the Dilbert blog for their original and clever humour (one or two topics excepted), I never read the comments as there are usually more than 100 per post, and who has the time? (I do love the way Scott Adams interacts with his readers, uses them as a creative resource for his posts, and hence increases his traffic even more, no doubt.) Maybe somewhere in the comments to the linked post above is an explanation, or maybe the whole post was a joke, but I’m relieved to note that Scott has posted every day (apart from weekends) since writing it a couple of weeks ago, which is exactly the frequency he’s posted for as long as I’ve been reading him. That’s good news.

Urban terrorism, French style

From The Week, 30 Nov 2007 (I know, I know):

An underground "cultural guerrilla" group has been marauding round Paris and ruthlessly restoring the city’s landmarks. A court heard last week how members of the "Untergunther" movement broke into the Pantheon in September 2005 and set up a secret workshop behind its famous dome. Under the supervision of a professional clockmaker, they then set about repairing the antique clock that city officials had allowed to rust since the Sixties.

Here’s the story at the Guardian, which from the date (26 November) is the source for The Week (no online version) extract above.